Monday, January 26, 2015

Shadow Falls: Born at Midnight

Shadow Falls Series: Born at Midnight (Book 1)
YA Paranormal Romance
By C.C Hunter

Goodreads Summary:
Welcome to Shadow Falls camp, nestled deep in the woods of a town called Fallen…

One night Kylie Galen finds herself at the wrong party, with the wrong people, and it changes her life forever. Her mother ships her off to Shadow Falls—a camp for troubled teens, and within hours of arriving, it becomes painfully clear that her fellow campers aren’t just “troubled.” Here at Shadow Falls, vampires, werewolves, shapeshifters, witches and fairies train side by side—learning to harness their powers, control their magic and live in the normal world.

Kylie’s never felt normal, but surely she doesn’t belong here with a bunch of paranormal freaks either. Or does she? They insist Kylie is one of them, and that she was brought here for a reason. As if life wasn’t complicated enough, enter Derek and Lucas. Derek’s a half-fae who’s determined to be her boyfriend, and Lucas is a smokin’ hot werewolf with whom Kylie shares a secret past. Both Derek and Lucas couldn’t be more different, but they both have a powerful hold on her heart. 

Even though Kylie feels deeply uncertain about everything, one thing is becoming painfully clear—Shadow Falls is exactly where she belongs.

Gabrielle's Review: 5 Star Review *****
This is the first book in a five book series. The main character, Kylie Galen gets sent to an overnight summer camp for "troubled teens" but what her parents don't know is that it's really a camp for supernatural teens who need help adjusting. Some, like the werewolves, grew up knowing who and what they were but then there are people like Kylie... Her mom isn't supernatural but her dad is so Kylie thinks everyone is pulling her leg when she is told about supernaturals.
Kylie immediately meets Derek, a half fae, who is the sweetest guy. But when she arrives at the camp, she notices Lucas, a werewolf. Her initial feeling toward him is fear because she remembered him from when she was a child and she believes he killed her cat but as the book progresses they become closer and Kylie isn't sure who she wants to be with. It is a typical love triangle but it keeps the romance interesting and keeps you guessing who she will end up with until the last book.
Warning: this series is addicting! It pulls you in right from the beginning when her life is turned upside down because her parents were acting like children.
I love each of the characters. Everyone is different and none of them blend together. Kylie becomes best friends with her two cabin mates: Della and Miranda. Della is a sassy vampire who doesn't let her emotions show. Miranda is a sensitive witch. Kylie is quiet and kind to everyone. 
The moment I finished the first book I went out and bought the next two because I discovered the series after the 3rd book was released and I couldn't put the books down. Then after that, I pre-ordered each book so I could begin reading it right away. I love C.C Hunter's creative mind and her gripping plots. Her Shadow Falls Series will NOT disappoint.  The only time I was disappointed was when I finished the last book and there was none left to read BUT don't worry! She came out with Shadow Falls: After Dark Series! (Which I also posted reviews for!) Della's story is just as good if not better!
Soon, C.C Hunter will be releasing her novella for Miranda and I can't wait! I'm dying to see how much Miranda grew and how she turns into the witch she's supposed to be.
Good job, C.C Hunter! Keep writing so I can devour the more of your books!

No comments:

Post a Comment