Tuesday, October 27, 2015

UNSPOKEN is OUT

Title: Unspoken
Author: C.C Hunter
Genre: YA Paranormal Romance

Goodreads Summary:
       Despite her superhuman strength and enhanced senses, Della Tsang's life as a vampire certainly hasn't been easy. Especially since she was reborn and bound to the mysterious, infuriating, and gorgeous Chase Tallman.

       But if there's one thing that's always kept Della going, it's her dream of being an elite paranormal investigator. Her newest case is the opportunity she's been waiting for, but as Della tries to solve the twenty year old murder and clear her father's name. She uncovers secrets about the vampire council. And about Chase.

      Feeling betrayed by all the secrets he's kept hidden from her, Della is determined to keep him as far away from her heart as she can. But she'll need his help to solve the case that will lead them into the darkest and ugliest vampire gangs in town and into the scariest reaches of her heart.
  


Gabrielle's 5 STAR Review:
        Unspoken is an epic ending to the Shadow Falls: After Dark trilogy. It had everything you could ever want: love, mystery, loyalty, and suspense.
        Della Tsang, a vampire at Shadow Falls, knows deep in her heart that her father is innocent of the murder they suspect he committed. Even when all the evidence points to him, her faith in him never waivers. He's mean to her and wants her out of his house but she didn't even think about giving up. Even when she broke down, she never gave up. Della is certainly a great role model for teenaged girls. Her determination is admirable.
       Chase, Della's not-quite-boyfriend-because-she's-confused-about-her-feelings, leaves his post at the Vampire Council to join the FRU so he can help Della and prove to her she can trust him. His "Father", which is Della's "dead uncle", wants to step forward and take the fall for the murder Della's dad is a suspect of but Chase swears him he will find the murderer.
       Steve, Della's past love interest, helps Della and Chase whenever needed. He helps Della break into somewhere, and when one of them gets hurt, he saves their life. (NOT GIVING AWAY WHO THOUGH) And not to mention, my favorite part, he sits down with Della and lets her talk about her problems and embraces her whenever needed. He's there for her through the entire book. What a sweetheart! (Team Steve all the way!)
       Chase and Della (Also with the help of Burnett) race against the clock (the trial date) to find the murderer but the closer they seem to get to answers, the more danger, and secrets they uncover.
       The only thing that disappointed me was the fact that most of the other campers weren't in this book as much. C.C Hunter has done a great job keeping in all old characters but not in this one. There are some scenes with Kylie, Miranda, Lucas, and Perry, but not as much as I hoped.  But this was only a minor disappointment because the book in itself was wonderful. Definitely worth the wait!
       I can't wait for more by C.C Hunter. None of her books have let me down yet. I hear she's writing a book for Miranda, which I'm excited about!!! If you love paranormal, romance, suspense, then this series is for you! I would even recommend this to anyone who enjoys YA.


Order Links:
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/unspoken-c-c-hunter/1120790359?ean=9781250067098
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Unspoken-Shadow-Falls-After-Dark/dp/125006709X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1445958393&sr=8-1&keywords=Unspoken



Monday, September 28, 2015

Unbreakable Giveaway

GIVEAWAY FOR UNBREAKABLE BY C.C HUNTER (Open only for U.S)
(C.C Hunter is not responsible for the giveaway.)
(Giveaway runs from 9/29 - 10/6)
YA Paranormal Romance
He isn't everything he says he is. He's even more...
Who is Chase Tallman, the newest member of Shadow Falls? What made him into the sexy, mysterious vampire he is today? And what led him to Della Tsang?
Step back in time and unearth the secrets that haunt him. The secret of how he became a vampire-and how he knows so much about being reborn. Secrets about his first love, his family--and what steers him toward Della, the beautiful, complicated girl he just can't seem to stay away from. The one who makes him want things he thought he'd given up on long ago. 
It all began with a research study, a palm reader, and a plane crash that sent him on a quest...for a love that's unbreakable.

C.C Hunter Bio:
C.C. Hunter grew up in Alabama, where she caught lightning bugs, ran barefoot, and regularly rescued potential princes, in the form of Alabama bullfrogs, from her brothers. Today, she's still fascinated with lightning bugs, mostly wears shoes, but has turned her focus to rescuing mammals. She now lives in Texas with her four rescued cats, one dog, and a prince of a husband, who for the record, is so not a frog. When she's not writing, she's reading, spending time with her family, or is shooting things-with a camera, not a gun.
C.C. Hunter is a pseudonym. Her real name is Christie Craig and she also writes humorous romantic suspense romance novels for Grand Central. www.christie-craig.com
C.C. would love to hear from you. Because of deadlines, it may take her a day or so to get back with you, but she will reply. cc@cchunterbooks.com
GIVEAWAY LINK: 
http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/cb556baa3/?
(The winner has been contacted! Thank you to everyone who entered!)

A Shattered Heart Is Out!

A Shattered Heart (Book 2 in the Fractured Lives Series) is out today!
By Tiffany King
New Adult Contemporary Romance
Order here:



About Tiffany King:
USA Today Bestselling author Tiffany King is a lifelong reading fanatic who is now living her dream as a writer, weaving Young Adult and New Adult romance tales for others to enjoy. She has a loving husband and two wonderful kids. (Five, if you count her three spoiled cats). Her addictions include: Her iphone and ipad, chocolate, Diet Coke, chocolate, Harry Potter, chocolate, zombies and her favorite TV shows. Want to know what they are? Just ask.

Where to connect with Tiffany:
Twitter- @AuthorTiffany

Tuesday, September 22, 2015

All Chained Up Cover Reveal

 
All Chained Up
By Sophie Jordan
Adult Contemporary Romance
 
Blurb provided by Avon:
There are bad boys and then there are the men of Devil’s Rock…. 
Some men come with a built-in warning label. Knox Callaghan is one of them. Danger radiates from every lean, muscled inch of him, and his deep blue eyes seem to see right through to Briar Davis’s most secret fantasies. But there’s one major problem: Briar is a nurse volunteering at the local prison, and Knox is an inmate who should be off-limits in every way.
Knox feels it too—a shocking animal magnetism that drives him to risk his own life to protect Briar’s. Paroled at last, he tries to resist her. She’s too innocent, too sweet, and she has no idea what Knox is capable of. But a single touch can lead to a kiss—and a taste…until the only crime is denying what feels so right…

Pre-order here:
Barnes & Noble: http://tinyurl.com/q3okapt
Amazon:             http://tinyurl.com/p6t8wkh

Find out more about Sophie and her books and connect with her through  www.sophiejordan.net.

Wednesday, September 9, 2015

City of Bones Review

Goodreads summary:
             When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It's hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?
             This is Clary's first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It's also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace's world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the
Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know...
            Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare's ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

Taylor’s Review:
         Perhaps this isn’t a new book, it may just be an oldie, but believe me if I say it’s a goodie! If you haven’t read this yet then you should probably just change your name to Patrick, because you have been living under a rock!
          Seriously, I can’t give enough praise for this book! The characters are multidimensional, the plot is gripping, and the story is both packed with action and full of heartache. If you aren’t cheering these teen super heroes on then you have no heart!
          So what’s this entire fan fair about?
          Let’s meet Clary. She is an artistic young girl with all the fiery passion of your typical redhead.
She has her trusty sidekick Simon, a geeky boy who is in a band (what was the band’s name again?). The two are inseparable. That is until Clary is tossed into the world of Shadowhunter’s, where no one is who or what they seem to be. Even Clary, just what is she? She meets the sarcastic and sexy Jace, cold and stoic Alex and the flirtatious and spicy Isabelle, three tough warriors bent on the destruction of demons. And do I smell a romance between Jace and Clary?
          With the help of Brooklyn’s High Warlock they just might save the day from an evil over lord!
This book is thrilling from the first page. Cassandra Claire does an amazing job at painting a vivid
picture of her exciting world. This book is a gateway drug to the series that is The Immortal Instruments.

Tuesday, September 8, 2015

Eona Review

Eona (Eon #2)
By Alison Goodman
YA Fantasy

Goodreads Summary:
           Eon has been revealed as Eona, the first female Dragoneye in hundreds of years. Along with fellow rebels Ryko and Lady Dela, she is on the run from High Lord Sethon's army. The renegades are on a quest for the black folio, stolen by the drug- riddled Dillon; they must also find Kygo, the young Pearl Emperor, who needs Eona's power and the black folio if he is to wrest back his throne from the selfstyled "Emperor" Sethon. Through it all, Eona must come to terms with her new Dragoneye identity and power - and learn to bear the anguish of the ten dragons whose Dragoneyes were murdered. As they focus their power through her, she becomes a dangerous conduit for their plans. . .
          Eona, with its pulse-pounding drama and romance, its unforgettable fight scenes, and its surprises, is the conclusion to an epic story only Alison Goodman can create...
Taylor’s Review:
         Eona picks up almost days after Eon. Eona has completely embraced her feminine side, but she
struggles with the awkwardness of being a girl. She is finally able to connect with her dragon, but it’s too dangerous to do so. Thanks to Lord Ido killing off all the dragoneyes, every time Eona tries to connect with her dragon they are attacked by the desperate and grieving dragons left behind. She will have to solve this problem along with many seemingly impossible tasks.
         An entire empire rests on her shoulders. She will need to wage a war while not going against her moral code while waging a war with her heart. A complex love triangle crops up in her life that could not be any more intense. She must choose between the emperor, who has been dethroned and is fighting back and Ido, the one who single handedly destroyed an empire for a taste of power. The entire empire rests in her decision on who she will trust her heart to.  Will she give up her power to save the dragons and the emperor’s throne? Or will she seize the power of the dragons for her and Ido and rule the Empire herself? 
           Eona makes a lot of terrible choices in this sequel. Several times I was forced to put the book
down and walk away before I reached into the pages and throttled our heroine. Yes, she was that
infuriating. And the ending left a lot of things unanswered for myself and from what I have heard, other readers. I do like how the author, Alison Goodman, isn’t afraid to kill off a few characters to show a little humanity in our power hungry bunch.
           Once again, the story is very well written with vivid scenes and ingenious sub plots. Plus, there is some back story on a few characters and we meet people whom we didn’t think we would ever get to know.  A good read, I just wish this was a trilogy, HINT! HINT! Alison Goodman, we are looking at you!

Wednesday, September 2, 2015

Eon Review

Book Title: Eon
Author: Alison Goodman
Genre: YA Fantasy

Goodreads Summary:
             Also Known As: Two Pearls of Wisdom, Eon: Rise of the Dragoneye, and Eon (All the same book just published with different publishers)
            Swordplay, dragon magic--and a hero with a desperate secret Twelve-year-old Eon has been in training for years. His intensive study of Dragon Magic, based on East Asian astrology, involves two kinds of skills: sword-work and magical aptitude. He and his master hope that he will be chosen as a Dragoneye--an apprentice to one of the twelve energy dragons of good fortune.
            But Eon has a dangerous secret. He is actually Eona, a sixteen-year-old girl who has been masquerading as a boy for the chance to become a Dragoneye. Females are forbidden to use Dragon Magic; if anyone discovers she has been hiding in plain sight, her death is assured. When Eon's secret threatens to come to light, she and her allies are plunged into grave danger and a deadly struggle for the Imperial throne. Eon must find the strength and inner power to battle those who want to take her magic...and her life.

Taylor’s Review:
            Eon plays a dangerous game. He is a twelve year old boy who is a candidate to become the next Rat dragoneye apprentice. Should he be chosen he will be trained to commune with the spiritual dragon to steer away storms from the people and help the land grow fertile. Except he is a cripple, a sign of bad luck and given the ward against evil everywhere he travels. But that’s not the worst of it, he is in fact a she, a sixteen year old girl, and should anyone find out, she and her master will be put to death.
            Not only does Eon, who is actually Eona, get chosen, but she is chosen by the Mirror dragon. A dragon, who has been missing for five hundred years. Just what does this mean for Eona and her master? Why has the dragon come back, why was a cripple chosen and why was a girl chosen?
Follow Eon on his/her journey through political swamps and court drama as she/he tries to discover the truth behind her ascending.
           Eon is written using rich language, beautiful storytelling and plot twists behind every word. The dialogue is so well written and the characters so well developed you can’t help but bite your nails as things go from bad to worse. Eon is so full of diverse people and plot lines that you feel like you have been sent back to the ancient orient and are sitting in on an imperial struggle of epic proportions.

Friday, August 14, 2015

Chaos Rocked My World!!

Chaos (Mayhem #3)
Jamie Shaw
4.5 Stars
          I have been looking forward to Chaos since Mayhem first released. (Mayhem is the first book in this series but each book can be read as a standalone.) Shawn is the lead guitarist in the band The Last Ones To Know. He and his band mates are looking for someone to fill a spot in their band and the only person who was good enough was Kit Larson. Shawn was her first love and he was the person who inspired her to pick up a guitar for the first time. But they had a history and Kit wasn't going to let that hold her back from living her dream.
          They accept her into the band and Kit, being the only girl in the group, has a lot to overcome. Her family doesn't agree with her choice, her feelings for Shawn return full force, and she has to prove herself even more because Shawn acts like a total jerk. But she doesn't let any of that hold her back. She goes on stage and rocks out like a true rock star, and the fans love her.
My favorite part of the book is Kit's family. She has four over-protective brothers and each of them have their own role in the story. All of them had different personalities and it showed why Kit grew into the women she was.
         Shawn is by far my favorite guy in the band. He was a bit of a man-whore but he was a true friend and cared deeply for Kit, even if he hadn't realized it yet. Their romance was gripping, heartbreaking, and so real, I felt my own heart break. One of my favorite parts, which shattered my heart, of the book is: "With the force of a woman's scorn, I snare my fingers in the front of his shirt and yank him toward the door. Then I spin around and push him so hard, he stumbles backward onto my porch. I barely catch the pleading look he gives me before I slam the door as hard as I can in his face. The foundation shakes, my hands shake, the world crumbles and when I turn around, everyone is staring at me. Everyone knows."
        Jamie Shaw poured all of her heart and soul into this book and it shows in her strong writing. It is the best book of the series so far! I highly recommend this to anyone who loves a good rock star romance, or even just a great romance story in general. Go for a ride with them on their tour and fall in love with Shawn as Kit and I have!

Tuesday, July 7, 2015

Giveaway for Not in the Script

Not in the Script
By Amy Finnegan
YA Contemporary Romance
I am doing a giveaway for a Not in the Script by Amy Finnegan paperback, signed bookplate, bookmark and button!








Summary: Millions of people witnessed Emma Taylor's first kiss-a kiss that needed twelve takes and four camera angles to get right. After spending years performing on cue, Emma can't help but wonder if any part of her life is real anymore . . . particularly her romances. She's been burned by heartthrobs (and the press) one too many times, but there's something about Emma's co-star on her new TV show Coyote Hills that is irresistible. Jake Elliott is gorgeous, smart and actually cares about Emma's charitable foundation. But she's sworn off on-set relationships. They always end badly . . . don't they?

This third novel in the deliciously fun If Only romance line proves that the best kinds of love stories don't follow a script.
GIVEAWAY LINK (U.S ONLY & Starts on 7/8) (CLOSED! WINNER HAS BEEN NOTIFIED!): http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/cb556baa2/?

Order here:
Amazon: http://tinyurl.com/ovgezfb

B&N: http://tinyurl.com/oqqnchy

BAM: http://tinyurl.com/njhsajd


Author Bio:
AMY FINNEGAN writes her own stories because she enjoys falling in love over and over again, and thinks everyone deserves a happy ending. She likes to travel the world-usually to locations where her favorite books take place-and owes her unquenchable thirst for reading to Jane Austen and J.K. Rowling. Not in the Script came about after hearing several years of behind-the-scenes stories from her industry veteran brother. She's also been lucky enough to visit dozens of film sets and sit in on major productions such as Parks and Recreation and Parenthood. This is Amy's debut novel.

Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Spellbinder is OUT and Giveaway!!

Spellbinder (A Shadow Falls novella) is out today!
By C.C Hunter
YA Paranormal Romance




Author's Summary:
       When magic, romance and family secrets collide, the result is spellbinding!
       Miranda Cane has always felt like a screw up--at least when it comes to her ability to wield magic. Her only sanctuary is Shadow Falls camp, where she's learning to harness her powers as a witch. But thanks to her shapeshifter boyfriend who called it quits and ran off to Paris, both her heart and powers feel broken.
       When she unexpectedly lands a top spot in a spell casting competition in France, she flies out with her best friends Kylie and Della. But her trip takes her straight into the heart of a dangerous supernatural mystery--and a heated romance. What Miranda doesn't expect is for her investigation to unleash shocking revelations...about herself, her family, and her arch enemy. Now Miranda must step up and show everyone that she's a witch to be reckoned with....before it's too late.

Gabrielle's Review:
        C.C Hunter takes another beloved character in Shadow Falls series and made me love her even more. I always wanted to get inside Miranda Cane's head, to feel her love for Perry, and it was AMAZING. Miranda starts off broken hearted, and kind of seemed useless (which was my only complaint) but then she stepped up to the plate, and did her best in the first competition which would bring her to Paris. She overcame her arch nemesis pranking her, and when someone attacks, Miranda's a bada** and saves the day. She has always had a hard time with spells because of her dyslexia, a real problem that real girls handle in real life. C.C brings in such an issue and handles it well.
        Once winning the competition, she, Kylie, and Della, head to Paris for the big competition to become High Priestess. Miranda finds out that both her parents had been lying to her her entire life but even though she's hurt, she handles it maturely. Miranda's heart is put into a blender because of Perry and her parents but she finds comfort in the last person she expected and together they are stronger.
        I felt Miranda's heartache, her love, and her determination as if it was my own. C.C Hunter is great at pulling at my heartstrings and putting a smile on my face. If C.C Hunter writes a book, I will always read it. She is too talented to pass up!

        One of my favorite quotes is " 'This, what?' she asked. 'This... him.' Perry waved toward the hall where Shawn had disappeared. 'Mr. I'm-too-sexy-for-my-shirt guy!'"

Order it today! 
Amazon:                http://tinyurl.com/nsdcsyl 
Barnes and Noble:  http://tinyurl.com/ottk94b 

Giveaway!!!!!!! (Starts on 7/1) (CLOSED! WINNER IS TAYLOR DOWLER!)

Thursday, June 25, 2015

Cover Reveal for Almost Midnight

Title: Almost Midnight
(Book of Novellas including: Turned at Dark, Saved at Sunrise, Unbreakable and Spellbinder)
By C.C Hunter
 
 
 
 
 
Author Bio:
C.C. Hunter grew up in Alabama, where she caught lightning bugs, ran barefoot, and regularly rescued potential princes, in the form of Alabama bullfrogs, from her brothers. Today, she's still fascinated with lightning bugs, mostly wears shoes, but has turned her focus to rescuing mammals. She now lives in Texas with her four rescued cats, one dog, and a prince of a husband, who for the record, is so not a frog. When she's not writing, she's reading, spending time with her family, or is shooting things-with a camera, not a gun.
C.C. Hunter is a pseudonym. Her real name is Christie Craig and she also writes humorous romantic suspense romance novels for Grand Central. www.christie-craig.com
C.C. would love to hear from you. Because of deadlines, it may take her a day or so to get back with you, but she will reply. cc@cchunterbooks.com

Tuesday, June 23, 2015

Cover Reveal For Reign of Shadows


Reign of Shadows cover reveal
By Sophie Jordan



A world of darkness. A love that shines...
Seventeen years ago, an eclipse cloaked the kingdom of Relhok in perpetual darkness, and in the chaos, an evil chancellor murdered the king and queen and seized their throne. Luna, the kingdom’s lost princess, has been locked away in a tower in the cursed Black Woods ever since. Luna’s survival depends entirely on the world believing she is dead.
But that doesn’t stop Luna from longing for a life beyond the stifling tower walls. When she meets Fowler, a mysterious archer who has braved the Black Woods in search of a land where the sun still shines, Luna is drawn to him despite the risk.
When the tower is attacked, Luna and Fowler escape together. But this world of darkness is far more treacherous than Luna ever realized. Hideous, flesh-hungry creatures lurk behind every corner and each stranger they encounter has frightening ulterior motives.
With every threat stacked against them, Luna and Fowler find solace in each other. But with secrets still unspoken between them, falling in love might be their most dangerous journey yet.

Check it out on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24657660-reign-of-shadows?from_search=true&search_version=service
Preorder on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Reign-Shadows-Sophie-Jordan/dp/0062377647/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1435077958&sr=8-1&keywords=reign+of+shadows+by+sophie+jordan&pebp=1435077964287&perid=04MCPD7CZDDVBG3MSPBE
Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/reign-of-shadows-sophie-jordan/1121953912?ean=9780062377647

Wednesday, June 10, 2015

The Power Cover Reveal

The Power
(Book 2 in the Titan Series)
Release Feb. 23, 2016
By Jennifer L. Armentrout

 "You don't know what I'm capable of."
 
 

Wednesday, June 3, 2015

Onyx (Lux #2)

Onyx (Lux #2)
YA Sci-fi/Paranormal
By Jennifer L. Armentrout
                                                                                                                   


                                            Reading format: Paperback
                                              366 pages

Goodreads Summary:
           Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…
           Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.             
           Something worse than the Arum has come to town…
The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we're linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there's this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that's possible. Against all common sense, I'm falling for Daemon. Hard.
           But then everything changes… I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me? No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…

Taylor’s Review:
            This book was more action packed then the first. They fight more, Kat gets powers, Daemon is all in her face with his perfect self and the relationships, oh, the relationships.
            You can tell the author is much more comfortable with her writing; she’s bolder with the plot and introduces more characters. She brings them to life with heart ache and trials that they have to face together. This book had way more angst then the first and some of it was funny and some of it was well written but poorly timed.
            The book picked up pace a lot in a good way. We had multiple enemies to worry about, some we thought were friends, and some we thought were just suspicious. Kat was constantly fighting to prove herself while Daemon was constantly struggling with his own inner demons and need to protect his sister Dee and his love interest Kat.
            One thing I didn’t like was how the action packed scenes sometimes seemed to end abruptly or left out details. I thought perhaps things seemed a bit disjointed and could have had more details added. I found myself rereading things to see if I missed something because I was having difficulty picturing important things. Unfortunately, it was just that things had been left out or poorly written.

Yet again, I would give this book 3.5 out of 5 stars. But I look forward to finishing the series.

Saturday, May 30, 2015

OBSIDIAN BY JENNIFER L. ARMENTROUT

Obsidian (Lux Series #1)
By Jennifer L. Armentrout
Goodreads Summary:
             Starting over sucks.
             When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up. And then he opened his mouth.
           Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens. The hot alien living next door marks me. You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.
           If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Taylor’s Review:

           This book was actually pretty good. It was very fast paced and not at all difficult to read. The main character, Katy has plenty of spit, which is a must have for me. She is constantly being called Kitten and Kitty cat by her outrageously hot next door neighbor, who, might I add, is a fricken amazing alien. Daemon is basically described as a modern day Adonis. Pretty typical, but he has major character flaws, mostly him being a major jerk.
           I really only liked the book because of the characters and the constant witty banter between the two main ones. I won’t lie, some of it made me laugh right out loud, drawing a few stares. You don’t really know why Daemon is a jerk, but it’s hinted at, so as long as the reader doesn’t need in your face explanations, it works. Unfortunately the book brings in Dee and then kind of puts her off to the side, having Kat focus on Dee’s brother, Daemon, did I mention they were twins?
          There was a lot of tension and angst throughout the whole book, right from the start, which I really liked. That aside, I thought it lacked a strong plot, which had many holes. The Aliens are super powerful and have to hide the powers, but they go about and do this and that and don’t do a great job of being secretive, yet no one notices anything. I found this wholly unrealistic.

                                     I would say this was a good book, earning 3.5 out of the 5 stars.

Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Sisters of Blood and Spirit

Sisters of Blood and Spirit
By Kady Cross


Goodreads Summary: Wren Noble is dead—she was born that way. Vibrant, unlike other dead things, she craves those rare moments when her twin sister allows her to step inside her body and experience the world of the living.

             Lark Noble is alive but often feels she belongs in the muted Shadow Lands—the realm of the dead. Known as the crazy girl who talks to her dead sister, she doesn’t exactly fit in with the living, though a recent suicide attempt and time in a psych ward have proved to her she’s not ready to join her sister in the afterlife.

            Now the guy who saved Lark’s life needs her to repay the favor. He and his friends have been marked for death by the malevolent spirit of a vicious and long-dead serial killer, and the twins—who should know better than to mess with the dead—may be their only hope of staying alive.



Gabrielle's Review:
            This is the first book I read by Kady Cross and it was good enough for me to be intrigued enough to read more by her but there seemed to be a lot of background information left out. I didn't realize (until I  looked it up on the author's website) that this was going to be a series. Even though there will be more books, I still felt like too much was left open ended.
           Lark and Wren are twin sisters but Wren was a still born, but that wasn't the end of her. She grew up along side her twin, Lark, but as a ghost. As a child, people thought it was "cute" that Lark played with her "imaginary dead twin" which I found disturbing people thought it was cute. But Wren wasn't imaginary, she is real. The author didn't give much information on HOW it was possible for a ghost to grow up with her sister, or who raised her. They questioned everything but never found the answers.
           The book begins with Lark returning to her old school after she was home schooled for a while. She attempted suicide but Wren yelled out to any alive human who could hear her, which ended up to be Kevin, a "medium". He called Mace, his friend who lived next door to Lark and saved her.
           Now, cue the what feels like a hundred people in their group of friends. There is Kevin (who is in college and didn't even get into trouble but was along for the scary ride), Gage, Mace, Ben, Sarah, and Roxie. There are no personality differences between Mace and Ben and they were both really attractive and flawless. The group of kids go to an old asylum and get marked by an angry and psycho ghost so they ask the only person who could truly help them: Lark.
           The story had a unique plot line that I enjoyed. I read the book within 12 hours of starting it. I loved the strong bond between Lark and Wren and how they both stood up for each other. Even though there were plenty of flaws, I still wanted to find out what happened. It was really fast paced and kept you on the edge of your seat. It is definitely worth the read but don't be surprised if you stumble upon all its flaws.
 
Overall, I give Sisters of Blood and Spirit 3.5 stars.

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Uninvited Review

Uninvited (Uninvited Series #1)
By Sophie Jordan
Young Adult Dystopian
Author's Summary:
You can’t change your DNA…even when it says you’re a murderer.
               When Davy tests positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome, aka “the kill gene,” she loses everything. Once the perfect high school senior, she is uninvited from her prep school and abandoned by her friends and boyfriend. Even her parents are now afraid of her—although she’s never hurt a fly. Davy doesn’t feel any differently, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.
               Without any say in the matter, Davy is thrown into a special class for HTS carriers. She has no doubt the predictions are right about them, especially Sean, who already bears the “H” tattoo as proof of his violence. Yet when the world turns on the carriers, Sean is the only one she can trust. Maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.


Gabrielle's Review:
               After reading all of Sophie Jordan's books (yes, they're all AMAZING), I wasn't sure what to expect with Uninvited. It typically isn't the type of book I would read for two reasons: I don't usually read dystopian, and I wasn't sure if I could connect with a girl who would turn into a killer. BUT it's one of the best dystopian reads I have read so far. I CAN connect with Davy because I tried to imagine what it would feel like to one day wake up and have my entire life ripped away from me for something out of my control. Her situation is terrifying but she is stronger than she looks, and the sexy Sean looks out for her.
               Davy makes two friends while in "the cage". Gil and Sean, even though Sean tells her to stay the hell away from him and any other person with the kill gene in them. They all go to a special training camp together and they soon realize they're being forged into weapons and they'll do anything to control the teenagers there, including threatening the people she loves. It's a thrilling story about coming into your own, friendship, and first love. Just because someone says they know your destiny, doesn't mean they're right, even if they try to force you into it. You chose your own fate.
               I couldn't stop reading Uninvited until I finished it. That's how all Sophie Jordan books are for me. She knows how to weave a story to keep you captivated and needing more.

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Shadow Falls: Awake at Dawn Review

Shadow Falls Series: Awake at Dawn (Book #2)
YA Paranormal Romance
By C.C Hunter
Goodreads SummaryStep into the world of Shadow Falls, a camp that helps teens tap into their special... talents. Once you visit, you’ll never forget it—and you’ll never, ever be the same.

From the moment Kylie Galen arrived at Shadow Falls Camp, she’s had one burning question: What am I? Surrounded by vampires, werewolves, shape-shifters, fairies and witches, Kylie longs to figure out her own supernatural identity…and what her burgeoning powers mean. And now she’ll need them more than ever, because she’s being haunted by a new spirit who insists that someone Kylie knows—and loves—will die before the end of the summer. If only she only knew who she was supposed to save. And how...

But giving Kylie the most trouble is her aching heart. Gorgeous werewolf Lucas left camp with another girl, but he’s still visiting Kylie in her dreams. And Derek, a sexy half Fae who’s always been there for her when she needed him, is pushing to get more serious—and growing impatient, especially when Lucas returns. Kylie knows she needs to decide between the boys, and it’s tearing her up inside.

Yet romance will have to wait, because something from the dark side of the supernatural world is hiding in Shadow Falls. It’s about to threaten everything she holds dear... and bring her closer to her destiny.


Gabrielle's Review:
This is the second book in Shadow Falls Series. Now that Kylie fully believes in the paranormal world, she is still on her path of self discovery. Weird things begin to happen that she can't explain. Like, she drinks blood and realizes that she actually liked it.  She knocked a solid oak door down when she thought Derek was in trouble (but he was only showering). She learns how to deal with the ghosts who keep needing her help (which honestly freaks everyone at the camp out.) 
The series keeps getting better and better. The romance is heart stopping, the action is exhilarating, and discovering Kylie's new abilities is exciting. C.C Hunter knows how to pull a little of everything and make it a grand story. I couldn't put the book down. I read it almost in one sitting. I have even re-read it about five times. This is one of the best series I have ever read. I can't wait for more from C.C Hunter! The last book of Shadow Falls: After Dark comes out toward the end of this year. (It's Della's story.)

Monday, January 26, 2015

Shadow Falls: Born at Midnight

Shadow Falls Series: Born at Midnight (Book 1)
YA Paranormal Romance
By C.C Hunter



Goodreads Summary:
Welcome to Shadow Falls camp, nestled deep in the woods of a town called Fallen…

One night Kylie Galen finds herself at the wrong party, with the wrong people, and it changes her life forever. Her mother ships her off to Shadow Falls—a camp for troubled teens, and within hours of arriving, it becomes painfully clear that her fellow campers aren’t just “troubled.” Here at Shadow Falls, vampires, werewolves, shapeshifters, witches and fairies train side by side—learning to harness their powers, control their magic and live in the normal world.

Kylie’s never felt normal, but surely she doesn’t belong here with a bunch of paranormal freaks either. Or does she? They insist Kylie is one of them, and that she was brought here for a reason. As if life wasn’t complicated enough, enter Derek and Lucas. Derek’s a half-fae who’s determined to be her boyfriend, and Lucas is a smokin’ hot werewolf with whom Kylie shares a secret past. Both Derek and Lucas couldn’t be more different, but they both have a powerful hold on her heart. 

Even though Kylie feels deeply uncertain about everything, one thing is becoming painfully clear—Shadow Falls is exactly where she belongs.

Gabrielle's Review: 5 Star Review *****
This is the first book in a five book series. The main character, Kylie Galen gets sent to an overnight summer camp for "troubled teens" but what her parents don't know is that it's really a camp for supernatural teens who need help adjusting. Some, like the werewolves, grew up knowing who and what they were but then there are people like Kylie... Her mom isn't supernatural but her dad is so Kylie thinks everyone is pulling her leg when she is told about supernaturals.
Kylie immediately meets Derek, a half fae, who is the sweetest guy. But when she arrives at the camp, she notices Lucas, a werewolf. Her initial feeling toward him is fear because she remembered him from when she was a child and she believes he killed her cat but as the book progresses they become closer and Kylie isn't sure who she wants to be with. It is a typical love triangle but it keeps the romance interesting and keeps you guessing who she will end up with until the last book.
Warning: this series is addicting! It pulls you in right from the beginning when her life is turned upside down because her parents were acting like children.
I love each of the characters. Everyone is different and none of them blend together. Kylie becomes best friends with her two cabin mates: Della and Miranda. Della is a sassy vampire who doesn't let her emotions show. Miranda is a sensitive witch. Kylie is quiet and kind to everyone. 
The moment I finished the first book I went out and bought the next two because I discovered the series after the 3rd book was released and I couldn't put the books down. Then after that, I pre-ordered each book so I could begin reading it right away. I love C.C Hunter's creative mind and her gripping plots. Her Shadow Falls Series will NOT disappoint.  The only time I was disappointed was when I finished the last book and there was none left to read BUT don't worry! She came out with Shadow Falls: After Dark Series! (Which I also posted reviews for!) Della's story is just as good if not better!
Soon, C.C Hunter will be releasing her novella for Miranda and I can't wait! I'm dying to see how much Miranda grew and how she turns into the witch she's supposed to be.
Good job, C.C Hunter! Keep writing so I can devour the more of your books!

Thursday, January 22, 2015

C.C Hunter's Book Tour

 
C.C Hunter's 2015 Book Tour Dates and Locations:
January 23, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM, She'll be at Mostly Books in Tucson, Arizona.
March 27-29, She'll be teaching workshops and attending the California Dreamin' Conference near Los Angeles.
May 12-17, She'll be kicking up my heels at the RT Booklovers Convention. She will be teaching several teen workshops and participating in their Giant Book Fair on May 17th along with 800+ authors. If you live in the Dallas/ Fort Worth area, you can't miss this one!
 
I met C.C Hunter when she came to Manchester, NH last year. She is the nicest, most generous author I have ever met. If you live nearby one of these locations, make sure you don't miss her!
 
C.C Hunter Books:
Shadow Falls Series: Born at Midnight, Awake at Dawn, Taken at Dusk, Whispers at Moonrise, and Chosen at Nightfall.
Shadow Falls: After Dark Series: Reborn, Eternal, and Unspoken.
Find C.C Hunter:
Facebook:
Twitter:
Website:

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

All Played Out Cover Reveal

ALL PLAYED OUT (Rusk University #3)
New Adult Romance
By Cora Carmack
 
First person in her family to go to college? CHECK.
Straight A’s? CHECK.
On track to graduate early? CHECK.
Social life? …..yeah, about that….

With just a few weeks until she graduates, Antonella DeLuca’s beginning to worry that maybe she hasn’t had the full college experience. (Okay... Scratch that. She knows she hasn't had the full college experience).

So Nell does what a smart, dedicated girl like herself does best. She makes a "to do" list of normal college activities.

Item #1? Hook up with a jock.

Rusk University wide receiver Mateo Torres practically wrote the playbook for normal college living. When he’s not on the field, he excels at partying, girls, and more partying. As long as he keeps things light and easy, it's impossible to get hurt... again. But something about the quiet, shy, sexy-as-hell Nell gets under his skin, and when he learns about her list, he makes it his mission to help her complete it.

Torres is the definition of confident (And sexy. And wild), and he opens up a side of Nell that she's never known. But as they begin to check off each crazy, exciting, normal item, Nell finds that her frivolous list leads to something more serious than she bargained for. And while Torres is used to taking risks on the field, he has to decide if he's willing to take the chance when it's more than just a game.

Together they will have to decide if what they have is just part of the experiment or a chance at something real.
 
Reserve your copy today!
 
                                                 About Cora Carmack:
 
           Cora Carmack is a twenty-something writer who likes to write about twenty-something characters. She's done a multitude of things in her life-- boring jobs (like working retail), Fun jobs (like working in a theatre), stressful jobs (like teaching), and dream jobs (like writing). She enjoys placing her characters in the most awkward situations possible, and then trying to help them get a boyfriend out of it. Awkward people need love, too. Her first book, LOSING IT, was a New York Times and USA Today bestseller.
 
You can find Cora at:
 
 
 
 
 


Friday, January 16, 2015

IGNITE


IGNITE (Defy #2) 
By Sara B. Larson
 

Goodreads Summary:
 
                Murder, abductions, and forbidden romance abound in this thrilling sequel to Sara B. Larson's acclaimed YA debut, DEFY.

               Alexa remains by the newly crowned King Damian’s side as his guard, ever committed to helping him rebuild Antion and reclaim the hope of Antion's people, despite continuing to harbor a secret love for him. However, when another threat to Damian and his kingdom emerges, and blame is cast on their newly forged allies from Blevon, Alexa knows things are not what they seem. With the fate of her nation hanging in the balance once again, will Alexa be able to protect her king and uncover the true enemy -- before it's too late?

 
  Gabrielle's Review:
                 I first discovered Sara B. Larson when her debut novel (Defy) released. I didn't realize at the time of purchase that it was her debut novel and as I read it, I still didn't realize it. Her writing style, although simple, is elegant. My only complaint I actually had of that book was that I didn't feel the plot had many layers. I didn't find out it was her debut novel until I liked her Facebook page. 
                 I recommend liking Sara's facebook.  ( https://www.facebook.com/AuthorSaraBLarson ) After liking her facebook, I realized that she isn't like a lot of authors. She is friendly, generous, and a great person overall.
                When I started reading Ignite, I did notice the plot, writing, and characters more came to life. Now that Prince Damian is King Damian, everyone thought things would be easier but what no one expected was certain countries wanting to wage war. Which countries? They aren't sure. They need to figure it out before a full blown war erupts. And the hardest part of all? Their new allies Blevon are being framed - or so they hope.
                I love Alexa's determination to be the best guard she can be. Even when King Damian tries to get her to admit her feelings for him, she refuses him and tells him to find a woman fit to be queen, not his "scarred guard." Honestly, without Alexa, all of Antion (her kingdom) would have been conquered easily.
                I couldn't put Ignite down. I read it even faster than I read Defy and I thought that was fast. It was a fast paced book with lovable characters. Sara's writing shined throughout the entire novel. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a great Fantasy novel. Good job Sara!!

                 -Gabrielle