Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Too Tempting Cover Reveal

Book Title: Too Tempting
By Bethany Lopez
Series: The Lewis Cousins, book 1
Genre: Contemporary Romance



Blurb: 

Gabriel "Gabe" Lewis retired from the NFL and returned home to Cherry Springs. He combined his passion for football with camping and is now the owner of a football camp for teens. His summers are dedicated to spending time with family and teaching his campers about the sport he loves.
 


Zoey Zahn is a quirky, introverted writer and self-proclaimed geek. When she's asked if she’ll accompany her nephew, Christopher, to camp, Zoey agrees, envisioning quiet evenings of writing in the great outdoors. After she stumbles upon Gabe, however, quiet evenings alone are the last thing on her mind.
 


The chemistry between Gabe and Zoey is undeniable, but as camp ends, a brewing storm causes their blooming relationship to fumble. All Gabe knows is that Zoey is Too Tempting to deny, and he's determined to overcome the obstacles between them to be the man she deserves.



Too Tempting is the first in an all-new small town romance series by Bethany Lopez. Follow the Lewis cousins of Cherry Springs, the kind of place where there are festivals for every occasion and everyone knows your business, as they learn about love and loss.



AUTHOR BIO:

Sign up for my Newsletter for more information about my writing: http://eepurl.com/Rcmrn

Award-Winning Author Bethany Lopez began self-publishing in June 2011. She's a lover of all things romance: books, movies, music, and life, and she incorporates that into the books she writes. When she isn't reading or writing, she loves spending time with her husband and children, traveling whenever possible. Some of her favorite things are: Kristen Ashley Books, coffee in the morning, and In N Out burgers.



AUTHOR LINKS: 
Website:  http://bethanylopez.blogspot.com/

Under The Lights Review

UNDER THE LIGHTS (FIELD PARTY #2)
By Abbi Glines
YA Contemporary



Goodreads Summary:
In the follow-up to Abbi Glines’s #1 New York Times bestseller Until Friday Night—three teens from a small southern town are stuck in a dramatic love triangle.

Willa can’t erase the bad decisions of her past that led her down the path she’s on now. But she can fight for forgiveness from her family. And she can protect herself by refusing to let anyone else get close to her.

High school quarterback and town golden boy Brady used to be the best of friends with Willa—she even had a crush on him when they were kids. But that’s all changed now: her life choices have made her a different person from the girl he used to know.

Gunner used to be friends with Willa and Brady, too. He too is larger than life and a high school football star—not to mention that his family basically owns the town of Lawton. He loves his life, and doesn’t care about anyone except himself. But Willa is the exception—and he understands the girl she’s become in a way no one else can.

As secrets come to light and hearts are broken, these former childhood friends must face the truth about growing up and falling in love…even if it means losing each other forever.

Gabrielle's 4 **** Review:
Willa lived with her grandmother until six years ago when her mother finally asked her to come live with her. But then she has to move back to her Nonna's because tragedy struck and a lot of people blamed Willa -- including Willa herself.

Gunner Lawton grew up in the richest family in town which was also named Lawton but he wasn't wanted. Both his parents neglected him and his brother finally showed his true colors.

Brady grew up in a great family (not rich but a close). His parents supported him and his dreams and helped him whenever possible. He was the quarterback of the team and on his way to getting a football scholarship to college.

One day, years ago, before Willa moved away, she sneaked into Gunner's tree house because she wanted to see it for herself. Gunner caught her and ever since they became best friends, along with their other friend Brady, who was the town's "golden boy".

Willa had a crush on Brady, Gunner had a crush on Willa, and it went round and round until one day, she had to pack up and head to Arkansas. But when she moved back, both boys were immediately drawn back to her. Not only was she their old best friend but she also grew into a beautiful young woman.

The biggest question I kept asking myself was: Can they all make it through this and remain friends? 

I enjoyed the story a lot. It wasn't a favorite but it was definitely worth the read. Some of it was a little predictable but Abbi managed to throw me a few curve balls. 

The love triangle wasn't as bad as some because you could totally tell who ended up with who and after a certain event, Willa KNEW who she wanted to be with.

I love that there are real issues in this YA contemporary and it wasn't just "so and so cheated on so and so". Yes, there is some drama (It's YA contemporary after all) but not so much that I wanted to stop reading. Adults, young adults, this book is for everyone over the age of 14. Go give it a try!

Dark Goddess Cover Reveal and Teaser

Dark Goddess
By Amalie Howard



Blurb:
After an epic struggle that unseated the Asura Lord of Death and placed Serjana Caelum’s best friend, Kyle, on his throne, the Mortal Realm is peaceful and the balance between good and evil—which Sera is sworn to protect—has been restored.

But signs of a new threat to the world of men quickly begin to appear: A scourge of demons descends on the Mortal Realm, and Sera is beside herself trying to locate their source. She sends word to the gods for help, and their answer comes in the form of Kira, the living incarnation of Kali, goddess of destruction.

Stunning and dangerous, Kira plans to protect the heavens at all cost, even if it means destroying the entire Mortal Realm. Soon Sera and Kyle find themselves fighting not just the demon plague, but Kira and her twin. But when an even more sinister threat arises—putting not just the human world but all planes of existence in jeopardy—they must all learn to work together or lose everything they sacrificed so much to save.


​Teaser:

​     ​
Without a backward glance, she closed her eyes and jumped into the midst of the blue-black pool, the sticky fluid sucking her body down to its depths like some kind of ravenous beast. As it devoured her, Sera’s mind emptied of all thought…and of all memory as she plummeted into the space where love would be nothing but weakness. She’d learned that the hard way. She stripped away all emotion, all empathy.

​     ​
It was time to become the monster.

Purchase Links:
Barnes & Noblehttp://bit.ly/2hXtMa8

About Amalie Howard:

​AMALIE HOWARD grew up in Trinidad & Tobago where she spent most of her childhood with her nose buried in a book or running around barefoot, shimmying up mango trees, and dreaming of adventure. 25 countries, surfing with sharks, and several tattoos later, she has traded in bungee jumping in China for writing the adventures she imagines instead. She isn’t entirely convinced which takes more guts.

An aspiring writer from a young age, Amalie’s poem “The Candle,” written at age twelve, was published by the University of Warwick press. At fifteen, she was  a recipient of a Royal Commonwealth Society Essay Award (a global youth writing competition). A Colby College graduate, she completed dual Honors Theses in both French and International Studies, and graduated Summa Cum Laude and Phi Beta Kappa. At Colby, she was cited for her research contribution to Raffael Scheck’s article, “German Conservatism and Female Political Activism in the Early Weimar Republic,” and his subsequent book, Mothers of the Nation. She also received a distinction in English Literature from the University of Cambridge (A-levels) as well as a postgraduate certificate in French Literature from the Ecole Normale Supérieure in Paris, France. Traveling the globe, she has worked as a research assistant, account executive, and global channel sales director for a Fortune 500 company.

She is the award-winning author of several young adult novels critically acclaimed by Kirkus, Publishers Weekly, SLJ, VOYA, and Booklist, including Waterfell, The Almost Girl, and Alpha Goddess, a Spring 2014 Kid’s INDIE NEXT title. Her debut novel, Bloodspell, was a #1 Amazon bestseller, and the sequel, Bloodcraft, was a national silver IPPY medalist and a silver Moonbeam award winner. She is also the co-author of the adult historical romance series, THE LORDS OF ESSEX. As an author of color and a proud supporter of diversity in fiction, her articles on multicultural fiction have appeared in The Portland Book Review and on the popular Diversity in YA blog. She currently resides in Colorado with her husband and three children.

Find Amalie Howard:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, December 19, 2016

KISS MY BOOTS REVEAL!!

KISS MY BOOTS
By Harper Sloan
Release Day: August 29, 2017

KISS MY BOOTS:

In this second of the sultry, Western-set Coming Home series from New York Times bestselling author Harper Sloan, Quinn Davis might finally have a shot at her own happily-ever- after—but will she let love in, or will she tell it to go ahead and kiss her boots?

Quinn Davis prefers to live her life quietly. She’s the stereotypical tomboy with two overprotective big brothers who have always been there to protect her, especially from devilishly handsome cowboys with silver tongues. That is, until Tate Montgomery comes riding into town. Their first meeting, however, is far from something out of a fairy tale and only further convinces Quinn that men aren’t worth her time.

Tate returns to his childhood hometown to start his life over and get a second chance at happiness. He might not remember Quinn from the summer vacations that he used to spend on his PawPaw’s farm but all it takes is one glance, and he can’t get the raven-haired beauty out of his mind. Can two people who have stopped believing in love take a chance to find it in each other? Or will the pain of the past prove too great a hurdle to conquer?

Preorder here:

Amazon US : http://amzn.to/2h6B6jq
Amazon UK : http://amzn.to/2axvlqo
Amazon AU : http://amzn.to/2fW8Ob5
Amazon CA : http://amzn.to/2awrTcp
BN : http://bit.ly/2gV2xMi
Kobo : http://bit.ly/2fWcXvI
iBooks : http://apple.co/2gPZMce
BAM : http://bit.ly/2g7Ou50

Google : http://bit.ly/2gCJAxq

Thursday, December 15, 2016

For His Eyes Only Reveal!

For His Eyes Only
By Lexi Blake
Masters and Mercenaries (Book 13)
Coming February 28, 2017



A night he can’t forget...

Five years ago, Nick Markovic found himself consumed by his quest for vengeance. The one time he managed to find peace was in the arms of Hayley Dalton. Being with her was like bathing in sunlight, and he ached to feel that again, but he couldn’t. He gave his oath to Hayley’s cousin Desiree, his partner at McKay-Taggart and Knight, that he’d never let his darkness infect Hayley’s innocent world.

A spark she can’t put out...

It was years before that Hayley offered everything she had to Nick. After that one amazing night, all she wanted was to be his forever. Unfortunately, Nick’s reaction was to walk away from her and never look back. The warm and caring man she’d discovered was gone, and after Des’s death, he’d only grown colder. But when Hayley finds herself in mortal danger, she’s forced to seek protection from the man who broke her heart.

A flame that threatens to consume them both...


Haunted by the women he failed, Nick can’t allow himself to grow close to Hayley again. Running to stay ahead of the powerful forces that endanger their lives, they travel from the lush Garden in London to the glittering lights of Rio. As the threat against her becomes clearer, he realizes that to keep her safe he must confront the demons future with the woman he loves.

Thursday, December 8, 2016

SALVAGED Cover Reveal

Image Map

About SALVAGED:

Hudson Wheeler is a nice guy. Everyone knows it, including his fiancée who left him with a canceled wedding and a baby on the way. He’s tired of finishing last and is ready to start living in the moment with nights soaked in whiskey, fast cars, and even faster girls. He’s set to start living on the edge, but when he meets Poppy Cruz, her sad eyes in the most gorgeous face he’s ever seen hook him in right away. Wheeler can see Poppy’s pain and all he wants to do is take care of her and make her smile, whatever it takes.

Poppy can’t remember a time when she didn’t see strangers as the enemy. After a lifetime of being hurt from the men who swore to protect her, Poppy’s determined to keep herself safe by keeping everyone else at arm’s length. Wheeler’s sexy grin and rough hands from hours restoring classic cars shouldn’t captivate her, but every time she’s with him, she can’t help being pulled closer to him. Though she’s terrified to trust again, Poppy soon realizes it might hurt even more to shut Wheeler out—and the intense feelings pulsing through her are making it near impossible to resist him.

The only thing Poppy is sure of is that her heart is in need of some serious repair, and the more time she spends with Wheeler, the more she’s convinced he’s the only man with the tools to fix it.

About Jay Crownover:

Jay Crownover is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Marked Men, Welcome to the Point, and Saints of Denver series. Like her characters, she is a big fan of tattoos. She loves music and wishes she could be a rock star, but since she has no aptitude for singing or instrument playing, she’ll settle for writing stories with interesting characters and make the reader feel something.

Until It Fades Cover Reveal!

UNTIL IT FADES
By K.A. Tucker
RELEASE DATE:  May 2nd, 2017
Summary:


​A sexy new romance about a small-town woman who saves the life of a mysterious man, and finds herself unexpectedly thrown into a whirlwind love affair, featuring bestselling author K. A. Tucker’s signature “well-constructed, pulse-pounding suspense” (USA TODAY).
Twenty-four-year-old truck stop waitress and single mother Catherine Wright has simple goals: to give her five-year-old daughter a happy life and to never again be the talk of the town in Balsam, Pennsylvania: population three thousand outside of tourist season.

And then one foggy night, on a lonely road back from another failed attempt at a relationship, Catherine saves a man’s life. It isn’t until after the police have arrived that Catherine realizes exactly who it is she has saved: Brett Madden, hockey icon and media darling.

Catherine has already had her fifteen minutes of fame and the last thing she wants is to have her past dragged back into the spotlight, only this time on a national stage. So she hides her identity. It works.

For a time.

But when she finds the man she saved standing on her doorstep, desperate to thank her, all that changes. What begins as an immediate friendship quickly turns into something neither of them expected. Something that Catherine isn’t sure she can handle; something that Catherine is afraid to trust.

Because how long can an extraordinary man like Brett be interested in an ordinary woman like Catherine…before the spark fades?

PRE-ORDER LINKS:

About K.A. Tucker:

K.A. Tucker writes captivating stories with an edge.

She is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water, and her latest Adult Suspense novel, He Will Be My Ruin. Her books have been featured in national publications including USA Today, Globe & Mail, Suspense Magazine, and Publisher's Weekly.

K.A. Tucker currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and a Chug.

Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Truthwitch Review

Truthwitch (Witchland Series #1)
By Susan Dennard
YA FANTASY
Goodreads Summary:
In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.

Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.

Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she's a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden - lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult's true powers are hidden even from herself.

In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls' heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.


Gabrielle's 5 star Review:
Imagine diving into a world and being torn to shreds... Only to find a lulling balm for your wounds... Then your heart is ripped out of your body but you can't resist reading more. That was how my reading experience was while reading Truthwitch by Susan Dennard.
Safi is a truthwitch. No one can find out because then emperors and empresses will want to posses her. Iseult is a weavewitch but she is also looked down on for her heritage. These two girls are best friends against all odds.
The book starts out with Safi and Iz starting trouble with a guild that hired a bloodwitch. The girls fight them and manage to run off but that doesn't mean they're safe. The bloodwitch hunts them using their blood's scent.
Safi meets Merik who is prince of Nubrevna but at first neither of them know who the other is... Not until they bump into each other at a ball type event. They dance together and something sparks between them but they can't tell if it's hatred or fondness. After Merik leaves, it is announced that Safi is betrothed to the emperor and she has to escape.
Different empires seek Safi as does the bloodwitch... It's full of action, love, adventure... It is everything I love in a YA Fantasy novel!
I read this whole book in less than a day. I couldn't stop reading. I loved Merik and Safi. Their chemistry exploded off the page... 
And against my better judgement, I loved the bloodwitch. He was an interesting character. He isn't quite a bad guy but not a good guy... He likes to play by his own rules. 
And Iz was an interesting character but out of the main people, she was probably my least favorite. Her and Safi did have an amazing friendship, though.
I wasn't sure who to root for during this epic ride. Anyone who loves YA Fantasy will enjoy this book! I highly recommend it!

Thursday, November 17, 2016

Fading Into the Shadows COVER REVEAL!

Fading Into the Shadows
By Kelly Hashway




Synopsis: 

When sixteen-year-old Ella Andrews’s best friend, Avery, goes missing, she’ll do anything to get him back—starting with punching the no-brain cop who couldn’t care less about the disappearance.

Ella’s convinced Avery’s been kidnapped, and she tries everything to find him—even following a strange shadow to another world where the constellations are real-life figures in the sky. But three star groups have fallen and are destroying the world.

The fallen constellations are not the only enemy. Melanie, the princess of Stellaris, is forcing Ella, Avery, and an army of other kids kidnapped from their world to fight the rogue constellations, even as the land is draining away their life. The longer they stay, the more they fade into substanceless shadows—a fate worse than death.

Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Mastering Her Senses Cover Reveal

Decadent… Sensual… Forbidden…


12 Masters. 12 Desires. 12 Fantasies Come to Life.
Meet the Masters of Blasphemy…




About MASTERING HER SENSES (Blasphemy #2, 2/21/17):

12 Masters. Infinite fantasies. Welcome to Blasphemy…

He wants to dominate her senses—and her heart…

Quinton Ross has always been a thrill-seeker—so it’s no surprise that he’s drawn to extremes in the bedroom and at his BDSM club, Blasphemy, where he creates sense-depriving scenarios that blow submissives’ minds. Now if he could just find one who needs the rush as much as him…

When an accident leaves Cassia Locke with a paralyzing fear of the dark, she’ll try anything to get help. Ready to fight, she knows just who to ask for help—the hard-bodied, funny-as-hell Dom she’d always crushed on—and once stood up.

Quinton is shocked and a little leery to see Cassia, but he can’t pass up the chance to dominate the alluring little sub this time. Introducing her to sensory deprivation becomes his new favorite obsession, and watching her fight fear is its own thrill. But when doubt threatens to send her running again, Quinton must find a way to master her senses—and her heart.


About Laura Kaye:

Laura is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of thirty books in contemporary and erotic romance and romantic suspense, including the Blasphemy, Hard Ink, and Raven Riders series. Growing up, Laura’s large extended family believed in the supernatural, and family lore involving angels, ghosts, and evil-eye curses cemented in Laura a life-long fascination with storytelling and all things paranormal. Laura also writes historical fiction as the NYT bestselling author, Laura Kamoie. She lives in Maryland with her husband and two daughters, and appreciates her view of the Chesapeake Bay every day.

Tuesday, November 1, 2016

Hearts & Ink Coloring Book & Giveaway

Hearts & Inks Coloring Book
Based off Laura Kaye's books

A Note from Laura:
Friends! I am so excited to share that I’ve worked with the awesome Jessica Hildreth at Creative Book Concepts to design my first adult coloring book based on my bestselling books! HEARTS & INK features 30 original designs with quotes from the books, iconic images, and fun backgrounds that I hope will excite long-time fans and intrigue new-to-me readers! I drew the title from my two bestselling series: the HEARTS in Darkness Duet and the Hard INK books! But you’ll also find pages from my new Raven Riders and Blasphemy series, my older paranormal series (the Hearts of the Anemoi based on Greek mythology, my Vampire Warrior Kings series, and my stand-alone novel, Forever Freed). Plus an absolutely gorgeous page from my historical fiction, America’s First Daughter (written as Laura Kamoie). So there’s a lot here to explore and color!

COLOR/POST/WIN GIVEAWAY CONTEST! For your chance to win one of 5 $10 Amazon or B&N gift cards, simply COLOR a page from my coloring book, POST it to Facebook or Twitter using the hashtag #HeartsandInk by November 30 at midnight EST, and look for my posts on December 1 to see if you won!

About the Hearts & Ink Adult Coloring Book:
New York Times Bestselling Author Laura Kaye invites you to immerse yourself within her fictional worlds with this adult coloring book inspired by her award-winning and bestselling novels. Thirty exciting and original designs will inspire, relax, and entertain fans old and new! Featuring book quotes and a variety of simple and intricate designs with lots of colorable space, there’s something for everyone to enjoy. So grab your pencils and crayons and get ready to read - and color - hard!


About Laura Kaye:

Laura is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of over twenty books in contemporary and paranormal romance and romantic suspense, including the Hard Ink and upcoming Raven Riders series. Growing up, Laura’s large extended family believed in the supernatural, and family lore involving angels, ghosts, and evil-eye curses cemented in Laura a life-long fascination with storytelling and all things paranormal. She lives in Maryland with her husband, two daughters, and cute-but-bad dog, and appreciates her view of the Chesapeake Bay every day.

Tuesday, October 25, 2016

While the Duke Was Sleeping Review & Giveaway

Title: While the Duke Was Sleeping
Author: Sophie Jordan
Genre: Historical Romance



Goodreads Summary: 
Sometimes the man of your dreams . . .

        Shop girl Poppy Fairchurch knows it’s pointless fantasizing about the Duke of Autenberry. Still, dreams can’t hurt anyone . . . unlike the carriage Poppy spies bearing down upon the unsuspecting duke. After she pulls him to safety, the duke lapses into a coma and Poppy is mistaken for his fiancée. But one person isn’t fooled: his arrogant and much too handsome half-brother, Struan Mackenzie. Soon Poppy isn’t sure what she wants more . . . the fantasy of her duke or the reality of one smoldering Scot who challenges her at every turn.

. . . is not who you think.

        An illegitimate second son, Struan may have built an empire and established himself as one of the wealthiest men in Britain, but he knows he will always be an outsider among the ton. Just like he knows the infuriating Poppy is a liar. There’s no way the haughty Duke of Autenberry would deign to wed a working class girl. It doesn’t matter how charming she is. Or tempting. Or how much Struan wants her for himself.


Gabrielle's 5 ***** Review:
         In the beginning, I did something terribly wrong... I didn't judge the book by its cover BUT I did judge it by its name. It kind of rubbed me the wrong way. BUT I love all Sophie Jordan books so I knew I'd read it anyway... And I LOVED IT. Every single second of it.
It starts off with Poppy working in a flower shop, admiring the Duke of Autenberry. He never leads her on but he's kind to her even though she's just the flower shop worker and she creates this fantasy in her mind that leaves her infatuated with him.
        One day, while leaving the shop, she watches him walk down the street... But is then stopped by a stranger, a rough looking stranger... And they get into a fight. When Poppy saves the Duke's life, she is sent to the Duke's home to make sure he is cared for. But then there is a miscommunication and everyone in the family believes her to be the Duke's betrothed... Everyone except Struan, the duke's bastard brother.
        Struan is alone, completely alone... And when he went to find his father after his father turned him down as a boy, he found him to be dead. So, he tried to talk to the next duke so perhaps he could have a family again. But the Duke of Autenberry doesn't want to believe his father cheated on his mother and shuns him out of the family. (Even though the rest of the family welcomes him)
         While the duke was sleeping, Struan and Poppy immediately are drawn to each other. At first, it starts as a game. Their banter is amusing and entertaining. Struan wants to see if he can please her more than his brother but both Struan and Poppy start to feel something more for each other. Something stronger than the cat and mouse game they started with.
        While The Duke Was Sleeping is definitely my favorite historical romance by Sophie Jordan. Perhaps even my favorite by ANY author. I love how Poppy is a dreamer. How even though she got the bad end of the stick, she still believed in something more. She gave up her whole life to take care of her sister and to make sure she was safe and she never felt too jaded by that fact. Most people are too selfish to do that.
        Struan starts out wanting revenge on his family but slowly begins to find peace and a home filled with a welcoming family. And as both of them heal and evolve, they find love in each other... But when the duke wakes up, Struan leaves. Leaving a broken hearted Poppy behind. And then I hate Struan because a man should fight for what he wants.
        Overall, I loved, loved, loved this book. I read it in one sitting. I couldn't eat, sleep, or even go to the bathroom before I finished the book. I recommend this to anyone who loves a great historical romance or just a good romance in general. I'll always be a Sophie Jordan fan. She never disappoints me!
!!!!GIVEAWAY!!!!
On Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/p/BL8uFgtB5_i/?taken-by=gabriellewrites&hl=en

Midnight Hour Review

Midnight Hour
By C.C. Hunter
YA Paranormal Romance

Goodreads Summary:
After captivating millions across the globe, the Shadow Falls saga reaches its final—and most unforgettable—chapter yet! Prepare to fall in love all over again...

Being a dyslexic witch is a curse in itself, but Miranda Kane’s time at Shadow Falls has helped her harness her magical powers. Now, just as she’s finally mastered them and is preparing to graduate with her friends, a near-death experience threatens to ruin it all.

Miranda awakens in the hospital with a mysterious tattoo that no one can explain. As she struggles to make sense of it – and questions her feelings for a certain irresistible shape-shifter and a hot new guy – the strange markings begin to spread all over her body, leaving her desperate to find answers. But before she can solve that problem, a new one arises: her sister is missing.

Has her sister been kidnapped? Miranda will risk her life to find out. Will she live to share the day she’s worked so hard for with her friends? When the clock strikes midnight, will Miranda make it to her graduation at Shadow Falls?

C.C. Hunter brings The Shadow Falls saga to a spectacular conclusion in this thrilling finale: Midnight Hour!



Gabrielle's 5 ***** Review:
I started reading C.C Hunter's books back when Kylie first started at Shadow Falls and was a total misfit. But then she met her two best friends: Della and Miranda. They were a balanced trio, always keeping each other in line.

I was SO excited to finally get into Miranda's head. Her and her pinky swingy head. :D The book starts out with Miranda and Tabitha (sisters) going to a cabin to get their fortunes told because Tabitha wants to know if what she has with her boyfriend is real. But things go to hell before they can find anything out. The building explodes and they barely get out with their lives.

Tabitha's boyfriend keeps looking guiltier and guiltier as the book goes on but Tabitha insists he's innocent. Miranda tries to take her sister's side but when the evidence builds up more, Miranda is starting to think maybe Tabitha's blinded by love and that maybe Anthony is guilty.

Then, there's a point of view for Perry. He found his family and is trying to find evidence to bring their gang down but not everyone trusts him so they keep a close eye on him. 

In the middle of everything Miranda is trying to figure out if she wants to stay with Shawn (her new boyfriend) or go back with Perry (Does he deserve her after everything he put her through?) But I kinda started to dislike Shawn because he doesn't always seem to be too loyal.

Tabitha disappears and they can't figure out if she's kidnapped or if she left on her own free will. But the longer they take the more danger they could be putting her in... Especially when there are gangs out there willing to kill anyone in their path to have both the sisters.

I am sad Miranda only gets one book but C.C Hunter made this book worth it. I couldn't stop reading it. I needed to know where Tabitha was and why she was missing. Miranda really stepped up to the plate and gave her all to get her sister back which I think is awesome. It gives young girls someone to look up to because Miranda isn't normally the type to stand up and do whatever it takes. It shows anyone can do it and not just the tough ones like Della.

I'm sad Shadow Falls is over but this was a great conclusion! Definitely a 5 star read for me. I can't wait for more from C.C Hunter. (Even though it won't be more Shadow Falls!)


There are two series before this book (but you can read it as a standalone):
Shadow Falls series AND Shadow Falls: After Dark! Check those out if you haven't yet.

Midnight Hour Trailer: 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IdCkKyDDjVw&feature=youtu.be

Friday, October 21, 2016

Hard to Serve (Hard Ink Novella) Review

Hard to Serve (Hard Ink #4.7)
By Laura Kaye
Erotic Romance


In celebration of Laura Kaye's release of Bound to Submit, I read and reviewed Hard to Serve. It is the novella leading into the Blasphemy series.
Goodreads Summary:
To protect and serve is all Detective Kyler Vance ever wanted to do, so when Internal Affairs investigates him as part of the new police commissioner’s bid to oust corruption, everything is on the line. Which makes meeting a smart, gorgeous submissive at an exclusive play club the perfect distraction…

The director of the city’s hottest art gallery, Mia Breslin’s career is golden. Now if only she could find a man to dominate her nights and set her body—and her heart—on fire. When a scorching scene with a hard-bodied, brooding Dom at Blasphemy promises just that, Mia is lured to serve Kyler again and again.

Then, as their relationship burns hotter, Kyler learns that he’s been dominating the daughter of the hard-ass boss who has it in for him. Now Kyler must choose between life-long duty and forbidden desire before Mia finds another who’s not so hard to serve.



Gabrielle's 4 **** Review:
         The book starts out with Detective Kyler Vance being investigated. He did do some sketchy things (in the other hard ink novels) but it was all for good. His godfather, Miguel, was murdered so he did want revenge but he ended up helping the men of hard ink because that was what Miguel was doing.
         Mia Breslin is an artist and nothing is really wrong with her life... Except for the fact that she's kind of lonely and can't find a man who likes to dominate in the bedroom. Most men who tried to, in order to please her, didn't do it up to her standards.
         So, finally, after months of researching the BDSM club, Blasphemy, she decides to go with a temporary membership. The Masters there are nice and welcoming and definitely interested in Mia...          But Kyler pretty much tell the others to get lost because for some reason, Mia has grabbed his attention. After months of not having any sex because of an injury, he is ready to dive back in, with Mia.
        The attraction between the two is instant and every time she visits, she only does "scenes" with Master Kyler. Then they run into Kyler's boss or more accurately Mia's father and suddenly everything they started to build up between the two of them, it all disappears. Kyler avoids Mia. He's already under investigation. He didn't want to add "dating the boss' daughter" to his already big stack of problems.
        I love how Mia steps out of her comfort zone and decides to go to Blasphemy. She makes friends with some of the other Masters. Kyler on the other hand, really made me angry every time I was inside his head. Yes, I understand you don't want a relationship... You don't gotta keep saying/thinking it. Then suddenly, he can't live without her? He was really unstable in my mind.
I did enjoy this ending to the Hard Ink Series, especially since Laura brought a few of them into the story. And it was an interesting lead into the Blasphemy series. I want to find out more about the other Masters.