Wednesday, February 22, 2017

LEI'D WITH CUPCAKES COVER REVEAL

Leid_coverreveal

Today we are celebrating the cover reveal of LEI'D WITH CUPCAKES by Bethany Lopez. This book is a romantic comedy/suspense title that will be released March 27th. Check out the cover, blurb, and excerpt below. This book is currently up for pre-order now so go grab your copy! Enter below for a chance to win a paperback bundle of Always Room for Cupcakes and Cupcake Overload!

    leiebook

Lei’d with Cupcakes by Bethany Lopez (The Cupcakes Series, book 3 )

Genre: Romantic Comedy/Suspense Date of release: Mar 27, 2017 Cover by Makeready Designs

Add the book to Goodreads

Synopsis:

Everybody dreams of a Hawaiian Vacation… They sell you on the drinks with little umbrella’s, dolphin watching, and long walks on the beach. Which probably happens, if you’re that lucky schmuck living out your dream with your destination wedding, but if you’re a fish out of water PI like me, there’s no time for relaxing because trouble is never far behind. Instead of cocktails, I ended up dealing with the seedy underbelly of The Big Island. And, I didn’t see one damn dolphin while undercover on a boat which was spilling over with drug dealers, Kingpins, and Pedophiles. Elin and Elena think Cade's family are the coolest people outside of Snapchat, but it’s hard to meet the parents when your boyfriend is in his late thirties and has never had a serious relationship. I’d never missed my girls so much in my life, but Amy May, Bea, and Carmen are all dealing with issues of their own, and can’t come to my rescue. The only thing that may help me with this “vacation” is if I could get Lei’d with Cupcakes. WARNING: THIS BOOK CONTAINS FOUL LANGUAGE, SEX, SOME VIOLENCE, AND SHENANIGANS. IF NONE OF THAT BOTHERS YOU, GRAB A CUPCAKE AND READ ON!   lei Lei'd teaser

Special Pre-order/Release Week Price is $2.99

Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Smashwords

  Cupcakes_giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Cupcake Series Banner (1)   cupcake (4)

Purchase Always Room for Cupcakes:

Amazon | iBooks | Smashwords | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

  cupcakeoverload

Purchase Cupcake Overload:

Amazon | iBooks | Smashwords | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

  EXCERPT:

 When it was our turn to disembark, Cade pulled out suitcases down from the overhead compartment, and we started off the plane. First Cade, with his well-worn leather backpack slung over one shoulder and a ratty Army green duffel in his hand. Then Elin and Elena, with their Harry Potter and Star Wars rolling bags, and finally, me, trailing behind with my new hard case roller, wondering why I’d been in such a hurry to land when all I wanted to do in that moment was run back to the plane.
With every step closer to the arrival area, my stomach grew tight and my buzz started to fade. By the time we stepped out of the corridor into the open space, filled with happy sounds and tons of people, I was ready to upchuck the six tiny bottles of vodka that had seemed like such a good idea in flight.
I looked up in time to see a tall woman hugging Cade tightly, while a handsome, older version of Cade was placing lei’s around the twins’ necks. I plastered a smile on my face and as I joined the group, all eyes turned to me.
Cade’s mother’s face lit up, as she looked to him and said, “Nice job, Hiapo, she’s got great hips.”  
------------------------------------

AUTHOR INFORMATION:

A1nt0F1SfnL._UX250_ Sign up for my Newsletter for more information about my writing: http://eepurl.com/Rcmrn Award-Winning Author Bethany Lopez began self-publishing in June 2011. She's a lover of all things romance: books, movies, music, and life, and she incorporates that into the books she writes. When she isn't reading or writing, she loves spending time with her husband and children, traveling whenever possible. Some of her favorite things are: Kristen Ashley Books, coffee in the morning, and In N Out burgers.
AUTHOR LINKS:
InkSlinger-Blogger banner-New

CHASING CHRISTMAS EVE COVER REVEAL & EXCERPT

CHASING CHRISTMAS EVE - banner    

From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes the next sexy, standalone novel in the Heartbreaker Bay series...

    CHASING CHRISTMAS EVE - cover


About CHASING CHRISTMAS EVE:
Meet cute...
Run for the hills—temporarily. That’s Colbie Albright’s plan when she flees New York for San Francisco. Wrangling her crazy family by day and writing a bestselling YA fantasy series by night has taken its toll. In short, Colbie’s so over it that she’s under it. She’s also under the waters of a historic San Francisco fountain within an hour of arrival. Fortunately, the guy who fishes Colbie out has her looking forward to Christmas among strangers. But she’s pretty sure Spencer Baldwin won’t be a stranger for long.
Make merry...
Spence’s commitment to hiding from the Ghosts of Relationships Past means he doesn’t have to worry about the powerful—okay, crazy hot—chemistry he’s got with Colbie. Just because she can laugh at anything, especially herself... just because she’s gorgeous and a great listener…just because she “gets” Spencer immediately doesn’t mean he won’t be able to let Colbie go. Does it?
…and hope for a miracle.
Now the clock’s ticking for Colbie and Spence: Two weeks to cut loose. Two weeks to fall hard. Two weeks to figure out how to make this Christmas last a lifetime

Pre-Order CHASING CHRISTMAS EVE in ebook or paperback, releasing 9/26/17

Amazon | iBooks | Kobo| Barnes & Noble

Add to your Goodreads


EXCERPT: 
The bathroom door opened, and even better than his fantasy, Colbie emerged from a cloud of steam, her willowy body wrapped in one of his towels, her exposed skin gleaming and dewy damp. Her hair had been piled on top of her head, but wavy strands had escaped, clinging to her neck and shoulders. 

He couldn’t tear his gaze off of her. There was just something so uncalculated about her, so . . . natural and easy. She was like a beacon to him, which was both crazy and more than a little terrifying.
Clearly not seeing him against the wall, she moved with an effortless grace to the suitcase she’d left at the door. Bending low enough to give him a near heart attack, she rifled through her things, mumbling to herself that she should’ve researched more about how to be a normal person instead of how to kill someone with an everyday object. 

“Do you kill a lot of people, then?” Spence asked.

“Motherforker!” she said with a startled squeak of surprise, whirling to face him, almost losing her grip on the towel.

Five days a week, Spence worked out hard in this gym. Mostly to outrun his demons, but the upside was he could run miles without losing his breath. But he lost his breath now.

And that wasn’t his body’s only reaction.    

Heartbreaker Bay graphic

And don’t miss the previous books in Jill Shalvis’s Heartbreaker Bay Series, SWEET LITTLE LIES, THE TROUBLE WITH MISTLETOE, ONE SNOWY NIGHT and ACCIDENTALLY ON PURPOSE, now available! Grab your copies HERE!

Jill Shalvis - headshot About Jill Shalvis: New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras full of quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental. Look for Jill’s sexy contemporary and award-winning books wherever romances are sold and click on the blog button above for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.      

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Newsletter SignUp

  InkSlinger-Blogger-New

HAVOC REVIEW, EXCERPT & GIVEAWAY


Falling in love with her cousin's rock star ex-boyfriend was definitely not part of the plan.


HAVOC
Mayhem #4
Jamie Shaw
Releasing February 21st, 2017
Avon Impulse


When Hailey Harper left her family farm to enroll in veterinary school, she had a plan: keep her head down, ace her classes, and most importantly... don't upset the uncle paying her tuition. Translation? Don't piss off his dramatic, self-absorbed daughter, Danica, even if she's a nightmare to live with.

Falling in love with her cousin's rock star ex-boyfriend was definitely not part of the plan.

As the drummer of a now-famous rock band, Mike Madden could have any girl he wants. He's sweet, funny, romantic, talented--and the only guy that's ever made Hailey's heart do cartwheels in her chest. The more she gets to know him, the harder she falls, but Hailey knows they can never be more than friends… because Danica wants him back, and she'll fight dirty to win.

Mike is falling for Hailey too, but Danica's threats and his rock star life-music video shoots, international tours, obsessed fans-could tear them apart before they've even begun. Hailey isn't sure she's the one for him, but Mike's waited years for a girl like her… and he'll do anything to prove it.



Gabrielle's 4 **** review:
I fell in love with Mike Madden right away when he was first introduced. He was nice, loved video games, and didn't hook up with random girls just because he could. Mike is the drummer in an up and coming band (the last ones to know). He's usually in the background, not drawing attention to himself but that didn't mean girls didn't dream about him.

Havoc starts out with his ex-girlfriend trying to get back with him. Danica is mean but beautiful so he was blinded by her beauty and fell in love with her when they were in high school. So, when he sees her again, and she wants to get back with him, he seems to say, "Why the hell not?"

Hailey, Danica's down to earth cousin, finds a friend in Mike. After their first night playing video games together they seem to find time whenever they can to play together. But with Mike's sweetness to not only her but to her little brother, Hailey finds herself falling for her cousin's man.

When Dee and Rowan see the sparks between Mike and Hailey they try to plot to get the two of them together. Their mutual hatred for Danica and their affection toward Mike motivate them more than anything.

But when Danica finds out that the two of them are attracted to each other, she threatens to take everything away from Hailey. So, that means that Hailey has to figure out if Mike is worth losing everything for.

Lets start with what I LOVED about Havoc:
I loved how Mike and Hailey played video games together and they could just be themselves with each other. No pretending. No bullsh*t.
I loved how Dee and Rowan still had a part in this story even though they aren't part of the band. They pulled Hailey into their inner circle and gave her true friendships.
I loved how Mike fought for Hailey.
All those things combined made me plow through the book in almost one sitting. I fell in love with Jamie's series in the first book and I knew I wouldn't be let down by Mike's story even though his was the last. I felt I could relate to the story a lot because my fiance and I connected with each other through video games.
Some things that I didn't like as much:
That Mike went back with Danica (HATE HER).
That Mike had to leave for a tour.
I wasn't a huge fan of the music video scene and it seemed to take up a lot of the story. (It was well written so that is my opinion and you will probably love it).
Overall, this is one of my top contemporary reads so far of the year. If you haven't read the first book (Mayhem) then you need to like NOW. You won't regret picking up this amazing series. You'll wish you were either in their band (the last ones to know) or you were one of their awesome girlfriends (can that happen, like for real?).
As sad as I am that the series has come to an end, Havoc was a satisfying finale. Good job, Jamie!!


HAVE YOU FALLEN FOR ALL 
THE MEN OF MAYHEM?

Excerpt:

           At a door near the back corner of the room, my fun-loving cousin marches right up to the first
security guard she sees, who also happens to be approximately five zillion times her size, with
muscles made of stone and a face to match. “Who do I need to talk to to get backstage?”
          At her bossy tone, Muscle-man lifts an eyebrow. “The Easter Bunny?”
          “Excuse me?”
          “No one’s allowed backstage.” The arms he crosses over his chest warn that he isn’t messing
around.
         “I’m with Mike,” Danica lies, and after studying her for a moment, Muscle-man laughs.
          “Sure you are.”
          “I am!”
          When Muscle-man just smiles at her like she’s a petulant child, Danica resorts to acting like
one. She demands to see his boss and threatens to get him fired. When that doesn’t work, she
resorts to curse words. And when those have no effect, all hell breaks loose.
          She’s torpedoing her finger into his chest and shouting something about his inbred gene pool
when I try to pull her away from him. But Danica is on a rampage, and all my efforts get me is  
hard shove that nearly knocks me on my ass. At five-feet tall, one hundred and three pounds,
I’m not exactly in a position to throw my weight around, and I don’t make a second attempt to
try. I’m rubbing my tender collarbone when the security guy picks my assailant up off her feet,
and I helplessly follow as he carries her outside.
          After serving as an armrest for a sweaty gigantor inside the club, after obliterating my eardrums
in front of the world’s biggest speakers, after getting knocked around like a bratty child’s toy all
night, all I want is to take a hot shower and crawl into my own bed to sleep for a week straight.
           Instead, I stand on the sidewalk outside of Mayhem, frowning at the furious look on Danica’s
face as she glares at the big metal door the security guard just shut behind him.
            She came here for one thing, and I know she’s not leaving until she gets it.
            “You didn’t have to push me,” I mutter, and her eyes flare.
            “You should’ve had my back!”
            “And done what? Bite his ankles?”
            In her four-inch wedge boots, Danica towers above me. I stare way up at her, trying to
remember the girl who played dolls with me up in my parents’ hay loft. But she’s lost
somewhere behind fake lashes and fifteen years of getting everything she's wanted.
            “You’ve been nothing but a bitch this whole time,” she snaps, and I sigh and pull my shirt away
from my skin again, letting the cool night air dry the sweat beaded on my lower back. There’s no point in trying to defend myself. In Danica’s mind, she’s always simultaneously the victim and the hero, and as her non-rent- paying roommate, I’ve learned to just accept that.
             I appreciate everything she’s done for me. I do. If she hadn’t been the little voice in her father’s ear, persuading him to fund my schooling and begging him to make some calls to get us enrolled, I’d be home mucking stalls, not following my dreams. Her dad pays all of my bills—my tuition, my insurance, my living expenses, all of them. And while I suspect that Danica’s sudden interest in my life wasn’t entirely genuine—she’d flunked out of college before, and I think her dad was only open to the idea of her going back if she was living off-campus with a responsible roommate, AKA her boring farm-girl cousin—I owe her. I owe her the roof over my head and the massive student loan debt I don’t have.
             When her phone rings, she wastes no time dismissing me to answer it. “Katie?” she says. “Guess who just got kicked out of the fucking club. Yes! Because this asshole bouncer wouldn’t let me backstage.” She gives me a dirty look. “Just stood there doing nothing. I know! No, she didn’t even try. Getting a place with her was stupid.”
            An icy chill slithers up the back of my neck, and I chew the inside of my lip. Because of my uncle’s insistence that I focus all of my energy on school right now instead of also finding a part-time job, I have no income. My only “job” is not pissing off his daughter. And it’s a job that I’m learning I am very, very bad at.
            With my mouth shut, I slink away before my mere presence can enrage Danica further, and when she asks where I’m going, I make up the lamest excuse ever. “To read this flyer over here.”


Interview with the author:
How is Hailey different from the other heroines you’ve written?
Hailey’s character is really layered, and she rarely fell into any extreme: she wasn’t super confident, but she’d stand up for herself when she had to; she didn’t believe she was pretty, but she knew she wasn’t ugly; she couldn’t stand her cousin, but she had a sense of family loyalty ingrained in her values. All of these middle-of-the-road characteristics made her feel very real, but they also made her difficult to write. I often had trouble figuring out how she’d act in a situation—more like the story was pushing her instead of her pushing the story. All of my heroines develop and change throughout their stories—something that I feel is an essential element of the New Adult genre—but Hailey’s major obstacle was her confidence, and that involved a deep level of exploration and growth that I think a lot of readers are really going to relate to.

Did you have to do any special type of research for this story?
In each of my Mayhem series books, I try to throw in some cool rock star element. In MAYHEM, the heroine went on tour with the band. In RIOT, the heroine went to a giant music festival. In CHAOS, the heroine was part of the band, so we got to see performing and touring from her perspective. And in HAVOC, Hailey gets to see (and be part of) a big-budget music video shoot! I had the video all planned out in my head, but since I had no idea how music video production actually works, I contacted an actual music video producer to find out. Since Taking Back Sunday was one of the big inspirations for the band in my books, I decided to start by checking out some of my favorite music videos by them and seeing who produced them. Then, I emailed that person, hoping and praying that they’d take the time to respond, and I freaked the hell out when they responded right away! The producer taught me all sorts of cool things about the production process, staff, and equipment, and it really helped me make those music video scenes much more authentic and detailed.

Readers have always loved the group dynamics and cast of characters in this series—can we expect to see those side characters and the couples from earlier books in HAVOC?
Yes! Because HAVOC is the final book in the series, it was very important to me to not only make sure Mike and Hailey got the happy ending they deserved, but to make sure that I ended the entire series—all of the romances, from all of the books—in a way that left readers content and smiling. In HAVOC, we get to see Adam and Rowan from MAYHEM, we get to see Dee and Joel from RIOT, we get to see Kit and Shawn from CHAOS, and we even get to see a ton of other series favorites: Leti, Kale, Kit’s brothers, Van... and even a surprise mention at the very end that ties everything together in a way I couldn’t be happier with. J

If Mike had a Horcrux, what would it be?
Easy! His drumsticks!


A resident of South Central Pennsylvania, JAMIE SHAW's two biggest dreams in life were to be a published author and to be a mom. Now, she's living both of those dreams and loving every minute of it. When she's not spending time with her husband and their young son, she's writing novels with relatable heroines and swoon-worthy leading men. With her MS in Professional Writing and a passion for all things romance, her goal is always to make readers laugh, cry, squirm, curse, and swoon their pants off, all within the span of a single story. She loves interacting with readers, and she always aims to add new names to their book boyfriend lists.



a Rafflecopter giveaway

MISTER MONEYBAGS COVER REVEAL

 New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestselling Authors Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward have teamed up once again to bring you another chance meeting, another Cocky Bastard who will charm his way into your heart on April 10th, 2017.
  IMG_5273
Photographer: Maurizio Montani
Model: Richeli Murari
Cover designer: Letitia Hasser, r.b.a. designs
     

I met Bianca in an elevator.

She was on her way to interview me when we got stuck.

The beautiful, raven-haired reporter assumed I was a delivery guy because of the way I was dressed.

She had no clue I was really Dex Truitt, the wealthy, successful businessman she’d dubbed “Mister Moneybags”—her afternoon appointment.

Bianca told me how much she hated Dex’s type—snobby, over educated, silver- spooned men who didn't appreciate the simple things in life.

So, after the elevator finally started moving again, I cancelled the interview and let her believe I was someone I wasn’t—a bike messenger named Jay. I loved the way she looked at the fake me and didn't want it to end.

I began dating her as “Jay”—all the while letting her interview the real me over email.

I didn’t expect that our chemistry online would be just as hot.

I didn’t expect the mess I’d gotten myself into.

I didn’t expect that Jay and Dex would fall in love with her.

And she was falling for two men.

Only, both men were me.

And when she found out, we were both going to lose her.

Nothing could have prepared me for that day. And I certainly wasn't prepared for what came after.

All good things must come to an end, right? Except our ending was one I didn't see coming.

 

Add to Goodreads

Read the First Chapter here: http://www.subscribepage.com/h8c4d2_MMB

 

PRE-ORDER

iBooks exclusive ebook pre-order | Amazon paperback

**No Amazon ebook preorder. Will go live on Amazon on release day. **

Sign up for Penelope & Vi’s mailing list now and be the first one notified when it goes live!

  MisterMoneybagsBookCover5x8_BW_264           


Vi Keeland is a #1 New York Times Bestselling author. With more than a million books sold, her titles have appeared in over fifty Bestseller lists and are currently translated in twelve languages. She resides in New York with her husband and their three children where she is living out her own happily ever after with the boy she met at age six.   Website | Facebook Fan Group | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram    
Penelope Ward is a New York Times, USA Today and #1 Wall Street Journal Bestselling author. She’s a fifteen-time New York Times bestseller of twelve novels. Having grown up in Boston with five older brothers, she spent most of her twenties as a television news anchor, before switching to a more family-friendly career. She is the proud mother of a beautiful 12-year-old girl with autism and a 10-year-old boy. Penelope and her family reside in Rhode Island.   Connect with Penelope Ward Facebook Fan Group | Facebook | Website |Twitter | Instagram  

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

MASTERING HER SENSES EXCERPT & GIVEAWAY!

MASTERING HER SENSES - RDL banner    

Decadent… Sensual… Forbidden…

12 Masters. 12 Desires. 12 Fantasies Come to Life. Meet the Masters of Blasphemy…

    MASTERING HER SENSES - Cover
About MASTERING HER SENSES (Blasphemy #2, 2/21/17):
12 Masters. Infinite fantasies. Welcome to Blasphemy…
He wants to dominate her senses—and her heart…
Quinton Ross has always been a thrill-seeker—so it’s no surprise that he’s drawn to extremes in the bedroom and at his BDSM club, Blasphemy, where he creates sense-depriving scenarios that blow submissives’ minds. Now if he could just find one who needs the rush as much as him…
When an accident leaves Cassia Locke with a paralyzing fear of the dark, she’ll try anything to get help. Ready to fight, she knows just who to ask for help—the hard-bodied, funny-as-hell Dom she’d always crushed on—and once stood up.
Quinton is shocked and a little leery to see Cassia, but he can’t pass up the chance to dominate the alluring little sub this time. Introducing her to sensory deprivation becomes his new favorite obsession, and watching her fight fear is its own thrill. But when doubt threatens to send her running again, Quinton must find a way to master her senses—and her heart.

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iBooks

EXCERPT:
“Where are you, Cassia?” Master Quinton asked, slowly swaying with her on the crowded dance floor.

“Um…” She swallowed, hard, blind beneath the thickly folded lace. “Yellow, Sir,” she said, feeling weak at the admission.

He kissed her, soft and sweet and approving. “Good girl. Always want you to be honest with me. If it’s too much, squeeze my shoulders three times. Otherwise, no talking.”

“Yes, Sir,” she said, knowing that they’d just slipped into a scene without him having to tell her. And that helped tip the scales toward the more positive reactions he’d unleashed. Because her body was a live wire waiting to see what he had in store for her. Why had she teased him again?

Words rumbled into her ear. “There’s a couple right behind you. Almost touching you. The man is dancing behind the woman, and he’s pulled up her skirt.” Cassia’s heart tripped into a sprint. Master Quinton squeezed her ass with one big hand as they danced, his body tight against hers. Other bodies bumped against them, too, against her elbow, her heel, her hip. “She was naked beneath,” he continued, “and her pussy is bare. The man is teasing her, rubbing his fingers over her lips without really hitting her clit. The look on her face is pure torture.”

Each word painted a new stroke of color against the blackness of her eyelids—and over all the most sensitive places of her body. Her nipples. Her neck. Her clit. Cassia shivered as the image Quinton described came to life in her mind’s eye.

Slowly, Master Quinton dragged his tongue up the column of Cass’s neck, adding to her own torment. And then his lips were at her ear again. “He’s fingering her now. Forcing her to keep dancing while he does it.” He swallowed thickly. “Aw, fuck, Cass, he’s making her suck her own wetness off his fingers.”

Cassia moaned at the vivid picture she now had, and at the rough arousal in her Dom’s voice. His lust stoked her own, made her wish that they were the ones doing what he described.

Quinton licked the shell of her ear, unleashing goosebumps all down her neck and shoulders. “He’s taking his cock out now. Lining it up between her legs… Oh, yeah, he just slid into her from behind. Right here on the dance floor.”

A whimper spilled from Cassia as heat roared over her body. Suddenly, she could barely stand the thin fabric of her dress against her skin.

“Mmm, like that idea, do you?” Quinton said, his dirty words a secret the music helped them keep. “Looks like she does too, the way her Dom is taking her right here in the middle of all these people, all of them watching her, touching her. Can you see it, Cassia? Can you see him fucking her?”

She gave a fast nod, almost forgetting not to speak. But, God, she wanted to. She wanted to beg.

For Quinton. For his touch and his tongue and his cock.

“Yeah, I know you can. You can see his cock sliding deep. I bet you can even feel it.”

Jesus, she was going to come. She was going to come from his words alone.

On some level, she knew what he was doing. And she freaking adored him for it, for the way he’d put light in the darkness with just his voice. But she was too invested in the story to think about it. She needed more. She needed it all.

MasteringHerSensense_Teaser_1_AvailableNow

Add to your Goodreads

   
    BLASPHEMY - 12 Masters banner

Books in Series:

Hard to Serve #.5

Bound to Submit #1

Mastering Her Senses #2 – 2/21/17

Eyes on You #3 – 7/11/17

      MASTERING HER SENSES - FB party graphic

Join the MASTERING HER SENSES Facebook Party on February 21st! JOIN THE PARTY HERE!

Laura Kaye - author pic About Laura Kaye: Laura is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of thirty books in contemporary and erotic romance and romantic suspense, including the Blasphemy, Hard Ink, and Raven Riders series. Growing up, Laura’s large extended family believed in the supernatural, and family lore involving angels, ghosts, and evil-eye curses cemented in Laura a life-long fascination with storytelling and all things paranormal. Laura also writes historical fiction as the NYT bestselling author, Laura Kamoie. She lives in Maryland with her husband and two daughters, and appreciates her view of the Chesapeake Bay every day.      

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Newsletter SignUp 


InkSlinger blogger banner
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

RIVETED REVIEW, EXCERPT & GIVEAWAY

RIVETED - header banner    

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Marked Men books comes the next installment in the Saints of Denver series.

    Riveted - cover

Everyone else in Dixie Carmichael’s life has made falling in love look easy, and now she is ready for her own chance at some of that happily ever after. Which means she’s done pining for the moody, silent former soldier who works with her at the bar that’s become her home away from home. Nope. No more chasing the hot as heck thundercloud of a man and no more waiting for Mr. Right to find her; she’s going hunting for him...even if she knows her heart is stuck on its stupid infatuation with Dash Churchill.

Denver has always been just a pit stop for Church on his way back to rural Mississippi. It was supposed to be simple, uneventful, but nothing could have prepared him for the bubbly, bouncy redhead with doe eyes and endless curves. Now he knows it’s time to get out of Denver, fast. For a man used to living in the shadows, the idea of spending his days in the sun is nothing short of terrifying. When Dixie and Church find themselves caught up in a homecoming overshadowed with lies and danger, Dixie realizes that while falling in love is easy, loving takes a whole lot more work…especially when Mr. Right thinks he’s all wrong for you.  

Amazon | iBooks | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Google

  RIVETED - RDL teaser  

ADD RIVETED TO YOUR GOODREADS

 Gabrielle's 4 **** Review:
           Ever Since Dixie laid eyes on Church, she knew she was meant to be with him but Church didn't think the same... Or so she thinks.
          Church is afraid to love someone. So, when Dixie shows up in his life, he closes himself off to her immediately. But when someone who is like his grandmother gets hurt, his "father" asks for him to come home because she's asking for him.
          Originally, he told his family that he couldn't come home because there was a girl in Denver that he couldn't leave because he loved her... So when he finally agrees to come, they tell him to bring his "girl" except in honesty there isn't a girl. That drives him to ask Dixie to join him because if there was one girl in Denver keeping him there, it was the bright sunshine that was Dixie.
         They drive his motorcycle all the way to his home state but along the way, strange things happen and they follow him home.  They had to figure out why those things were happening before someone really got hurt or killed.

          I enjoyed Dixie's character a lot. Even though life beat her down, she kept getting back up and always with a smile on her face. Her whiny inner dialogue was a little annoying when she was upset that she hadn't found "the one" yet but she's only twenty six so she still had some time to find the right guy. Other than that, her spirits were always up and she wanted to help people who were down. She even allowed her sister's ex fiance (I CAN'T WAIT FOR THAT BOOK) to stay at her place until he figured out what to do next.
          Church had some serious issues. Yes -- I don't want two perfect people to find each other and have a perfect happy life because that is boring. Church had a lot of demons that haunted him (I don't want to say what they are because they're spoilers!) He wanted Dixie's sunshine but he didn't want to take the light out of her eyes when he'd "eventually break her heart".
          I love love love Church's "fill in father". He was an interesting character because he loved Church even after they lost his mother. A lot of men would kick their step child to the curb but he just loved him as his own.
          Dixie and Church compliment each other, rounding their relationship out. This is a fantastic addition to the Saints of Denver series and I can't wait to read the next book! I recommend this to anyone who of course loves Jay's other books or just anyone who loves a good romantic story with a splash of suspense!

EXCERPT:

Church

She kissed me.

Her lips touched mine and she destroyed me. This tiny ray of light that seemed determined to chase the darkness inside of me away unraveled me with nothing more than the brush of her very soft lips against mine.

I should’ve pulled away, either that or gone all in. The attraction between us was only going to end one way, with me inside of her as we scorched through one another, so a real kiss with tongues and teeth and grabbing hands was inevitable, especially if she was holding the door wide open in invitation. I was already struggling with the friend thing and this wasn’t helping at all. I stood there, holding her, feeling her as she rubbed her mouth over mine, the barest hint of pressure as she took a taste, as she feathered her lips against mine like she was trying to memorize the shape, the feel, the flavor of them. It was the singularly softest touch I’d ever experienced and yet it had the power to make my knees weak and my blood pop with a desire so sharp it felt like it could pierce right through my skin.

Her hand cradled my jaw, her fingers shaking with some of the same things I was feeling. This thing that lived between us was hungry and tired of being ignored. It buzzed around us, electric and hot, refusing to be cooled by the chill in the night air that surrounded us. If we weren’t careful the passion that was hungry and needy between us would consume us, devour us, and leave us nothing more than hollow husks filled with fading satisfaction and jagged disenchantment because no matter how good we were together it couldn’t and wouldn’t last. I didn’t want any part of me to be responsible for burning her out. I liked that her light chased my shadows away and that meant I wasn’t going to have any kind of hand in dimming her internal glow.

Her breasts pressed into the center of my chest as she leaned more fully into me and I could feel the pointed peaks of her nipples stab into my skin. The sensation made my dick twitch behind my zipper and had all the available blood that was still above my belt rushing south. I’d always liked the way Dixie was built. She was on the shorter side, but every single part of her small frame was curved and lush. She looked like a woman that you could grab ahold of without having to watch yourself. She was delicate but in no way did she come across as fragile or breakable. She looked like she could take everything I had to give her, all the pent-up longing, all the nights of frustration I spent hard and alone, all the denied hunger that made me want to eat her up and then go back for seconds and thirds because I knew there was no way I was going to have my fill of her honeyed lips and velvety skin in one go.

There was so much of her to experience, and I wanted to know what all of it felt like, tasted like, sounded like. I wanted to watch her come from every possible position I could get her in, and then I wanted to find some new ones, ones no man had ever had her in before, and watch her come in those, too. Because I knew once I got her she would let me have her in ways she hadn’t let anyone else. Her eyes, so pretty and dark, made me all kids of promises, and I wanted to take her up on every single one of them. But there wasn’t anything I could promise in return, and that always kept me from crossing the invisible line.

She ran the tip of her nose along the edge of my jaw and that little nuzzle made my entire body shudder. She had the ability to bring down all the walls I’d so carefully built up around us in order to keep both of us safe. She didn’t have any clue the kind of damage I could do if I ignored all the warning bells ringing loudly in the back of my mind. I knew the ways in which I could wreck the women in my life that I cared about and there was no way on God’s green and often unforgiving Earth that I would subject her to that. I barely survived the loss of the last woman I loved. I knew if I let Dixie sneak her way inside my heart and something happened to her there would be nothing left of me. There wouldn’t be anyplace left for me to run.


Jay Crownover - headshot
   About Jay Crownover: Jay Crownover is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Marked Men, The Point, and the Saints of Denver series. Like her characters, she is a big fan of tattoos. She loves music and wishes she could be a rock star, but since she has no aptitude for singing or instrument playing, she'll settle for writing stories with interesting characters that make the reader feel something. She lives in Colorado with her three dogs.      

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

    InkSlinger Blogger banner

Saturday, February 11, 2017

UNREST REVIEW

Unrest_Banner_ReleaseDay2

Unrest_Ebook_LowRes

Title: Unrest

Author: Wendy Higgins

Release Day: February 14th

About Unrest:

Being on the run in the desert means food and sanctuary are hard to come by, but Amber Tate and her crew are not about to give up. Not after having so many of the things they love brutally ripped from them by an unknown enemy who sent their world into the apocalypse.   Survival takes precedence, but once safe shelter is found, their guards fall and the emotions they’ve been holding in are finally released. Anger, insecurities...lust. In their tight quarters, Amber, Rylen, Tater, and Remy can't escape it. The past must be faced, and passions run even stronger in the darkest of times.   In the midst of unrest, their worlds are rocked again when they discover the truth about the war that’s ruined their lives. They thought finding out the enemy's identity would give them the edge; instead it’s revealed terrifying dangers they never thought possible.

Preorder your copy today:

Kindle or Nook

Gabrielle's 4 **** review:

           I received an ARC in an exchange of an honest review.
           Amber Tate's world fell apart at the end of Unknown (book 1). All she had left in the world was her brother, her best friend, and her brother's best friend (who she's been in love with for years). After a struggle, their crew, and a bunch of random army guys they bumped into all head toward an army base that they believe is still running even though an unknown enemy wiped out most people.
          Once at the base, they are brought in and life almost seemed to go back to normal but everyone in their group grew emotionally unstable. Tater (Amber's brother) is moody and depressed, Remy (her best friend) is trying to change her ways and doesn't want to get close to anyone but Amber, and Rylen is dealing with guilt and regret. 
          After what seemed like forever, Amber admits her feelings to Rylen and I wanted to smack her and say, "You should have told him forever ago!" But when everyone starts to feel too comfortable, their world is turned upside down.
          Going into this, I was a little unsure because I wasn't too much of a fan of Unknown. But this book kept my rapt attention and I never wanted to put it down. I read it only in a few hours, never looking up from my screen.
           There was explosive romance, solid and loving friendships, and a sibling bond that made my heart smile. The relationships (even non romantic) were amazing. Rarely have I seen some this great.
            My heart ached the entire book but it was well worth it. I can't wait to find out what happens next. At the end of the book (I'm not saying what happens), I was like, OMG OMG OMG OMG NO!!!!! I NEED THE THIRD BOOK ASAP!
            Great job, Wendy! Thank you for bringing Amber, Rylen, Remy, and Tater to life! If you like dystopian/apocalyptic with an explosive romance then this book is for you!


Exclusive Excerpt:

        Remy put her head on my shoulder and I got a small but distinct whiff of chocolate.
      “I might have to lick you, Rem,” I blurted. 
        Both Tater and Rylen turned to us, nearly cracking heads in the process.
      “She smells like chocolate,” I explained. Tater shook his head and faced forward again. Ry gave me one last bemused look before turning back too.
      “Hey,” Remy whispered. She raised her free hand to my face, and to my shock, there was half of the tiny candy pinched between her finger and thumb. “I saved half for you.”
       My heart lurched with emotion. “Are you serious?” She nodded and her chin quivered as she raised the M&M to my mouth and fed it to me. She licked her fingers off while I savored the tiny morsel. My eyes watered as I crunched down and Remy said, “Good, right?”
       A second later we were hugging and crying all over again. “We have to save our water,” I choked.         She sniffled and let go of me to wipe her face. “No more crying.”

Catch Up on the Series:

AmazonUS / AmazonUK / B&N / iTunes / Book Depository

Unrest Teaser Image

About Wendy Higgins:

WendyHiggins4 Wendy Higgins is a soccer mom and backstage drama mama. Most people in her tiny bayside town don’t know she’s a USA Today and NYT bestselling author of paranormal, fantasy, and science-fiction romances. Wendy is a former high school English teacher who now writes full time in her pajamas, and lives on the Eastern Shore of Virginia with her veterinarian husband, daughter, son, and little doggie Rue. Wendy earned a bachelor’s in Creative Writing from George Mason University and a master’s in Curriculum and Instruction from Radford University.  




Reach Wendy Online:

Email: wendyhigginswrites@gmail.com

Website: www.wendyhigginswrites.com

Twitter: @Wendy_Higgins https://twitter.com/Wendy_Higgins

Facebook: WendyHigginsWrites https://www.facebook.com/WendyHigginsWrites/

Instagram: @wendyhigginswrites https://www.instagram.com/wendyhigginswrites/